Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
ARTS & HUMANITIES  > AMERICAN STUDIES

AMERICAN LITERATURE

65 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
(PENGUIN CLASSICS DELUXE EDITION)
Written by ARTHUR MILLER
Introduction by SUSAN C. W. ABBOTSON

Format: Trade Paperback, 560 pages

Publisher: Penguin Classics

On Sale: 11/22/2016

Price: $35.00

ISBN: 978-0-143-10849-8

The collected essays of the “moral voice of [the] American stage” (The New York Times) in a Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition
 
Arthur Miller was not only one of America’s most important twentieth-century playwrights, but he was also one of its most influential literary, cultural, and intellectual voices. Throughout his career, he consistently remained one of the country’s leading public intellectuals, advocating tirelessly for social justice, global democracy, and the arts. Theater scholar...

Read More >

Written by IMBOLO MBUE

Format: Hardcover, 400 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 08/23/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99848-1

Winner of the 2017 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

Selected for common reading at Fashion Institute of Technology

In the vein of Amy Tan and Khaled Hosseini comes a compulsively readable debut novel about marriage, immigration, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream—the unforgettable story of a young Cameroonian couple making a new life in New York just as the Great Recession upends the economy.

 
Jende Jonga, a Cameroonian immigrant living in Harlem, has come to the United States...

Read More >

LITERARY GREATNESS AND THE AMERICAN SUBLIME
Written by HAROLD BLOOM

Format: Trade Paperback, 544 pages

Publisher: Spiegel & Grau

On Sale: 02/09/2016

Price: $20.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98746-1

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST AND KIRKUS REVIEWS

Hailed as “the indispensable critic” by The New York Review of Books, Harold Bloom—New York Times bestselling writer and Sterling Professor of Humanities at Yale University—has for decades been sharing with readers and students his genius and passion for understanding literature and explaining why it matters. Now he turns at long last to his beloved writers of our national literature...

Read More >

A MEMOIR
Written by JUSTIN ST. GERMAIN

Format: Trade Paperback, 272 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 03/05/2014

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98074-5

In the tradition of Tobias Wolff, James Ellroy, and Mary Karr, a stunning memoir of a mother-son relationship that is also the searing, unflinching account of a murder and its aftermath

Tombstone, Arizona, September 2001. Debbie St. Germain’s death in her remote trailer, apparently at the hands of her fifth husband, is a passing curiosity. “A real-life old West murder mystery,” the local TV announcers intone before the commercial break, while barroom gossips snicker cruelly. But for her...

Read More >

Written by JON MEACHAM

Format: Trade Paperback, 800 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 10/29/2013

Price: $22.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-97948-0

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The New York Times Book Review • The Washington Post • Entertainment Weekly • The Seattle Times • St. Louis Post-Dispatch

In this magnificent biography, the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of American Lion and Franklin and Winston brings vividly to life an extraordinary man and his remarkable times. Thomas Jefferson: The Art of Power gives us Jefferson the politician and president, a great and complex human being forever engaged in the wars of his era....

Read More >

THE TWILIGHT SAGA AND THE WOMEN WHO LOVE IT
Written by TANYA ERZEN

Format: Trade Paperback, 184 pages

Publisher: Beacon Press

On Sale: 10/15/2013

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-807-00639-9

An author immerses herself in the frenzied fandom of Twilight, the young-adult vampire romance series that has captivated women of all ages.

Why have the Twilight saga’s representations of romance and relationships enchanted millions of fans and generated millions in revenue, selling everything from Barbie-type dolls to blockbuster films? Tanya Erzen–herself no stranger to the allure of the series–explores the phenomenon of Twilight, books and films influenced by conservative Mormon...

Read More >

THREE FAMILIES
Written by JAMES AGEE
Photographer WALKER EVANS
Edited by JOHN SUMMERS
Introduction by ADAM HASLETT

Format: Hardcover, 224 pages

Publisher: Melville House

On Sale: 05/29/2013

Price: $24.95

ISBN: 978-1-612-19212-3

In 1941, James Agee and Walker Evans published Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, a four-hundred-page prose symphony about three tenant farming families in Hale County, Alabama at the height of the Great Depression. The book shattered journalistic and literary conventions. Critic Lionel Trilling called it the “most realistic and most important moral effort of our American generation.”

The origins of Agee and Evan’s famous collaboration date back to an assignment for Fortune magazine, which sent...

Read More >

Written by KENNETH GOLDSMITH

Format: Trade Paperback, 176 pages

Publisher: powerHouse Books

On Sale: 03/12/2013

Price: $19.95

ISBN: 978-1-576-87636-7

What are the words we use to describe something that we never thought we'd have to describe? In Seven American Deaths and Disasters, Kenneth Goldsmith transcribes historic radio and television reports of national tragedies as they unfurl, revealing an extraordinarily rich linguistic panorama of passionate description. Taking its title from the series of Andy Warhol paintings by the same name, Goldsmith recasts the mundane as the iconic, creating a series of prose poems that encapsulate seven...

Read More >

THE TWILIGHT SAGA AND THE WOMEN WHO LOVE IT
Written by TANYA ERZEN

Format: Hardcover, 184 pages

Publisher: Beacon Press

On Sale: 10/30/2012

Price: $24.95

ISBN: 978-0-807-00633-7

An author immerses herself in the frenzied fandom of Twilight, the young-adult vampire romance series that has captivated women of all ages.

Why have the Twilight saga’s representations of romance and relationships enchanted millions of fans and generated millions in revenue, selling everything from Barbie-type dolls to blockbuster films? Tanya Erzen–herself no stranger to the allure of the series–explores the phenomenon of Twilight, books and films influenced by conservative Mormon...

Read More >

Written by ELLEN PEARLMAN

Format: Trade Paperback, 264 pages

Publisher: EVOLVER EDITIONS

On Sale: 04/24/2012

Price: $21.95

ISBN: 978-1-583-94363-2

In America in the late 1950s and early 60s, the world–and life itself–became a legitimate artist’s tool, aligning with Zen Buddhism’s emphasis on “enlightenment at any moment” and living in the now. Simultaneously and independently, parallel movements were occurring in Japan, as artists there, too, strove to break down artistic boundaries.

Nothing and Everything brings these heady times into focus. Author Ellen Pearlman meticulously traces the spread of Buddhist ideas into the art world...

Read More >

A BIOGRAPHY
Written by JEAN STROUSE
Preface by COLM TOIBIN

Format: Trade Paperback, 392 pages

Publisher: NYRB Classics

On Sale: 11/01/2011

Price: $17.95

ISBN: 978-1-590-17453-1

The Jameses are perhaps the most extraordinary and distinguished family in American intellectual life. Henry’s novels, celebrated as among the finest in the language, and William’s groundbreaking philosophical and psychological works, have won these brothers a permanent place at the center of the nation’s cultural firmament. Less well known is their enigmatic younger sister, Alice. As Jean Strouse’s generous, probing, and deeply imaginative biography shows, however, Alice James was a...

Read More >

AN ANTHOLOGY OF NEW YORK POETS

Format: Trade Paperback, 128 pages

Publisher: Melville House

On Sale: 08/16/2011

Price: $14.95

ISBN: 978-1-612-19000-6

This 10th anniversary edition is an important and inspiring document from a defining moment in our nation’s history. There will be great interest as the events of 9/11 are commemorated and analyzed on the 10-year anniversary.

A sweeping collection of poems, written in the year after the 9/11 attacks, by all New York poets, crosses styles and genres, to provide a unique and affirming snapshot of life in the aftermath of disaster.

Read More >