Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
ARTS & HUMANITIES  > AFRICAN STUDIES

AFRICAN LITERATURE AND DRAMA

113 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
Written by IMBOLO MBUE

Format: Hardcover, 400 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 08/23/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99848-1

Winner of the 2017 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

In the vein of Amy Tan and Khaled Hosseini comes a compulsively readable debut novel about marriage, immigration, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream—the unforgettable story of a young Cameroonian couple making a new life in New York just as the Great Recession upends the economy.

 
Jende Jonga, a Cameroonian immigrant living in Harlem, has come to the United States to provide a better life for himself, his wife, Neni, and their...

Read More >

Written by CHINUA ACHEBE

Format: Trade Paperback, 240 pages

Publisher: Penguin Books

On Sale: 08/16/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-385-01480-9

Winner of the Man Booker International Prize
Winner of the New Statesman Award


Set in the Ibo heartland of eastern Nigeria, this novel describes the conflict between old and new in its most poignant aspect: the personal struggle between father and son.

Read More >

Written by CHINUA ACHEBE

Format: Trade Paperback, 160 pages

Publisher: Penguin Books

On Sale: 08/16/2016

Price: $15.00

ISBN: 978-0-385-08616-5

Winner of the Man Booker International Prize

In A Man of the People, Achebe foreshadows the Nigerian coups of 1966 and shows the color and vivacity as well as the violence and corruption of a society making its own way between the two worlds

Read More >

A NOVEL
Written by YAA GYASI

Format: Hardcover, 320 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 06/07/2016

Price: $26.95

ISBN: 978-1-101-94713-5

Homegoing is an inspiration.” —Ta-Nehisi Coates 

A novel of breathtaking sweep and emotional power that traces three hundred years in Ghana and along the way also becomes a truly great American novel. Extraordinary for its exquisite language, its implacable sorrow, its soaring beauty, and for its monumental portrait of the forces that shape families and nations,Homegoing heralds the arrival of a major new voice in contemporary fiction.
            
Two half-sisters, Effia and Esi, are born...

Read More >

A NOVEL
Written by MARIE NDIAYE

Format: Hardcover, 288 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 04/26/2016

Price: $26.95

ISBN: 978-0-385-35188-1

Longlisted for the Man Booker International Prize

From the hugely acclaimed author of Three Strong Women—“a masterpiece of narrative ingenuity and emotional extremes” (The New York Times)—here is a harrowing and subtly crafted novel of a woman captive to a secret shame.

On the first Tuesday of every month, Clarisse Rivière leaves her husband and young daughter and secretly takes the train to Bordeaux to visit her mother, Ladivine. Just as Clarisse’s husband and daughter know nothing of...

Read More >

Written by LAILA LALAMI

Format: Trade Paperback, 336 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 08/18/2015

Price: $15.95

ISBN: 978-0-804-17062-8

Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize
Longlisted for the International DUBLIN Literary Award
Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize 

Financial Times Best Book of 2015
New York Times Notable Book
Wall Street Journal Top 10 Book of the Year
An NPR Great Read  
Kirkus Best Fiction Book of the Year


In these pages, Laila Lalami brings us the imagined memoirs of the first black explorer of America: Mustafa al-Zamori, called Estebanico. The slave of a Spanish conquistador, Estebanico sails for the Americas...

Read More >

Written by NGUGI WA THIONG'O

Format: Trade Paperback, 256 pages

Publisher: Anchor

On Sale: 05/12/2015

Price: $15.95

ISBN: 978-1-101-91051-1

Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award 

Renowned novelist, poet, playwright, and literary critic Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o was a student at a prestigious, British-run boarding school near Nairobi when the tumultuous Mau Mau Uprising for independence and Kenyan sovereignty gripped his country. While he enjoyed scouting trips and chess tournaments, his family home was razed to the ground and his brother, a member of the insurgency, was captured by the British and taken to a concentration...

Read More >

Written by CHRISTIE WATSON

Format: Trade Paperback, 256 pages

Publisher: Other Press

On Sale: 04/28/2015

Price: $16.95

ISBN: 978-1-590-51709-3

 From the award-winning author of Tiny Sunbirds, Far Away, the story of a young boy who believes two things: that his Nigerian birth mother loves him like the world has never known love, and that he is a wizard
 
Elijah, seven years old, is covered in scars and has a history of disruptive behavior. Taken away from his birth mother, a Nigerian immigrant in England, Elijah is moved from one foster parent to the next before finding a home with Nikki and her husband, Obi.
 
Nikki believes that she...

Read More >

Written by DINAW MENGESTU

Format: Trade Paperback, 272 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 01/06/2015

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-345-80566-9

Longlisted for the International DUBLIN Literary Award

A sweeping, continent-spanning story about the love between men and women, between friends, and between citizens and their countries, All Our Names is a transfixing exploration of the relationships that define us. Fleeing war-torn Uganda for the American Midwest, Isaac begins a passionate affair with the social worker assigned to him. But the couple’s bond is inescapably darkened by the secrets of Isaac’s past: the country and the...

Read More >

Format: Trade Paperback, 384 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 10/07/2014

Price: $16.95

ISBN: 978-0-345-80254-5

When a young man is gunned down in the streets of Nairobi, his grief-stricken father and sister bring his body back to their crumbling home in the Kenyan drylands. But the murder has stirred up memories long since buried, precipitating a series of events no one could have foreseen. As the truth unfolds, we come to learn the secrets held by this parched landscape, hidden deep within the shared past of a family and their conflicted nation. Spanning Kenya’s turbulent 1950s and 1960s, Dust is...

Read More >

Written by OKEY NDIBE

Format: Trade Paperback, 352 pages

Publisher: Soho Press

On Sale: 10/07/2014

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-1-616-95458-1

Foreign Gods, Inc. is a meditation on the dreams, promises and frustrations of the immigrant life in America; the nature and impact of religious conflicts; an examination of the ways in which modern culture creates or heightens infatuation with the “exotic,” including the desire to own strange objects and hanker after ineffable illusions. An exploration of the shifting nature of memory, Foreign Gods is a brilliant work of fiction that illuminates our globally interconnected world like no...

Read More >

Written by LAILA LALAMI

Format: Hardcover, 336 pages

Publisher: Pantheon

On Sale: 09/09/2014

Price: $26.95

ISBN: 978-0-307-91166-7

Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize
Nominated for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award
Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize 

New York Times Notable Book
Wall Street Journal Top 10 Book of the Year
An NPR Great Read  
A Kirkus Best Fiction Book of the Year


In this stunning work of historical fiction, Laila Lalami brings us the imagined memoirs of the first black explorer of America—a Moroccan slave whose testimony was left out of the official record.

In 1527, the conquistador Pánfilo de...

Read More >