Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
SOCIAL SCIENCES  > SOCIOLOGY

MEDICAL

135 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
MY JOURNEY FROM SHAME TO STRENGTH
Written by LIZ PRYOR

Format: Hardcover, 272 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 06/28/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99800-9

For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strength in the most unlikely place

In 1979, Liz Pryor is a seventeen-year-old girl from a good family in the wealthy Chicago suburbs. Halfway through her senior year of high school, she discovers that she is pregnant—a fact her parents are determined to keep a secret from her friends, siblings, and community forever. One snowy January day, after driving across three...

Read More >

LIFE AND DEATH IN A STORM-RAVAGED HOSPITAL
Written by SHERI FINK

Format: Trade Paperback, 592 pages

Publisher: Broadway Books

On Sale: 01/26/2016

Price: $17.00

ISBN: 978-0-307-71897-6

Winner of the:
National Book Critics Circle Award
Ridenhour Book Prize
J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize
Los Angeles Times Book Prize
Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance Book Award
American Medical Writers Association Medical Book Award
NASW Science in Society Journalism Book Award
 
Finalist for the:
New York Public Library’s Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism
ALA Andrew Carnegie Medal in Nonfiction
 
Shortlisted for the PEN/E.O. Wilson Science Writing Award
 
A Christian Science...

Read More >

LOVE, HOPE, HELP, AND ACCEPTANCE IN OUR FIGHT AGAINST ALZHEIMER'S

Format: Hardcover, 336 pages

Publisher: Harmony

On Sale: 01/19/2016

Price: $25.00

ISBN: 978-0-553-44712-5

“I know where I’m going. I’m still myself. I just can’t remember things as well as I once did. So on short trips, I work hard not to be confused. I’ll say to myself, What are we going to do? How long are we staying? It’s like I’m talking to my other self—the self I used to be. She tells me, This is what we need to buy—not that. I’m conscious of that other self guiding me now.”
 
Restaurateur, magazine publisher, celebrity chef, and nationally known lifestyle maven, B. Smith is struggling at 66...

Read More >

HOW TO SAVE YOUR LIFE AND THE LIVES OF THOSE YOU LOVE
Written by LESLIE D. MICHELSON

Format: Hardcover, 336 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 09/01/2015

Price: $24.95

ISBN: 978-0-385-35228-4

Too many Americans die each year as a result of preventable medical error—mistakes, complications, and misdiagnoses. And many more of us are not receiving the best care possible, even though it’s readily available and we’re entitled to it. The key is knowing how to access it.

The Patient’s Playbook is a call to action. It will change the way you manage your health and the health of your family, and it will show you how to choose the right doctor, coordinate the best care, and get to the...

Read More >

LOSING MY FATHER, ONE DAY AT A TIME
Written by JONATHAN KOZOL

Format: Hardcover, 320 pages

Publisher: Crown

On Sale: 06/02/2015

Price: $26.00

ISBN: 978-0-804-14097-3

Professors: Please do not order before 6/2/2015. 

National Book Award winner Jonathan Kozol is best known for his fifty years of work among our nation’s poorest and most vulnerable children. Now, in the most personal book of his career, he tells the story of his father’s life and work as a nationally noted specialist in disorders of the brain and his astonishing ability, at the onset of Alzheimer’s disease, to explain the causes of his sickness and then to narrate, step-by-step, his slow...

Read More >

THE SCIENCE OF THOSE WITHOUT CONSCIENCE
Written by KENT A. KIEHL

Format: Trade Paperback, 304 pages

Publisher: Broadway Books

On Sale: 04/21/2015

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-770-43586-8

“By primate standards, humans are intensely social, affiliative, and empathic. Thus, we are fascinated with the rare individuals who lack those traits…. In this superb book written by one of the pioneers in this field, Kent Kiehl explores what is different about the brains of psychopaths. This is a clear, accessible account of the science and, in addition, an appealing personal story of how Kiehl has gone about his unique science.” – Robert Sapolsky, Professor of Neurology and Neurological...

Read More >

FEAR, HOPE, DREAD, AND THE SEARCH FOR PEACE OF MIND
Written by SCOTT STOSSEL

Format: Trade Paperback, 416 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 02/03/2015

Price: $16.95

ISBN: 978-0-307-39060-8

Shortlisted for the Wellcome Trust Book Prize 
Washington Post Notable Book; a Seattle Times Best Book of the Year

Drawing on his own longstanding battle with anxiety, Scott Stossel presents a moving and revelatory account of a condition that affects some 40 million Americans. Stossel offers an intimate and authoritative history of efforts by scientists, philosophers, and writers to understand anxiety. We discover the well-known who have struggled with the condition, as well as the afflicted...

Read More >

WHY ORDINARY CHILDHOOD BEHAVIOR IS MISTAKEN FOR ADHD, BIPOLAR DISORDER, AND AUTISM SPECTRUM DISORDER
Written by ENRICO GNAULATI

Format: Trade Paperback, 256 pages

Publisher: Beacon Press

On Sale: 09/02/2014

Price: $20.00

ISBN: 978-0-807-06115-2

A veteran clinical psychologist exposes why doctors, teachers, and parents incorrectly diagnose healthy American children with serious psychiatric conditions.
 
In recent years there has been an alarming rise in the number of American children and youth assigned a mental health diagnosis. Current data from the Centers for Disease Control reveal a 41 percent increase in rates of ADHD diagnoses over the past decade and a forty-fold spike in bipolar disorder diagnoses. Similarly, diagnoses of...

Read More >

THE NFL, CONCUSSIONS, AND THE BATTLE FOR TRUTH

Format: Trade Paperback, 432 pages

Publisher: Three Rivers Press

On Sale: 08/26/2014

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-770-43756-5

Comprehensively, and for the first time, award-winning investigative reporters Mark Fainaru-Wada and Steve Fainaru deliver a probing look at brain injury and football. Moving between the NFL trenches, America’s research labs and the boardrooms where the NFL went to war against science, League of Denial examines how the league used its power and resources to attack independent scientists and elevate its own flawed research. Utilizing exclusive interviews, previously undisclosed documents and...

Read More >

ASKING THE BIG QUESTIONS IN A CULTURE OF EASY ANSWERS
Written by CURTIS WHITE

Format: Trade Paperback, 256 pages

Publisher: Melville House

On Sale: 08/05/2014

Price: $16.95

ISBN: 978-1-612-19390-8

The so-called new atheists, most famously Richard Dawkins and Christopher Hitchens, made a splash in the new millen­nium. They told the evangelical and the liberal believer that they must give up religion and submit to science.

More recently, neuroscientists and their fans in the media have delivered a variation on this message: the mapping of the human brain will soon be completed, and we will know what we are and how we should act. Their faith is that the scientific method provides the best...

Read More >

UNLOCKING MEDICINE'S DEEPEST MYSTERY
Written by GEORGE JOHNSON

Format: Trade Paperback, 304 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 06/03/2014

Price: $15.95

ISBN: 978-0-307-74230-8

A New York Times Notable Book of 2013

When the woman he loved was diagnosed with a metastatic cancer, George Johnson set out to learn everything he could about the disease and the people who spend their careers trying to understand and to fight it. What he discovered is a revolution under way—an explosion of new ideas about what cancer really is and where it comes from.

Deftly excavating and illuminating decades of investigation and analysis, rooted in every discipline from evolutionary...

Read More >

HOW EMOTIONS AFFECT THE PRACTICE OF MEDICINE
Written by DANIELLE OFRI

Format: Trade Paperback, 232 pages

Publisher: Beacon Press

On Sale: 05/06/2014

Price: $15.00

ISBN: 978-0-807-03330-2

The quality of medical care is influenced by what doctors feel, an aspect of medicine that is usually left out of discussions of health care today. Drawing on scientific studies, as well as on real-life stories from other physicians and her own medical practice, Dr. Danielle Ofri examines the impact of emotions on medical care. Contemporary media portrayals of doctors focus on the decision making and medical techniques, reinforcing an image of rational, unflinching doctors. But though the...

Read More >