Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
SOCIAL SCIENCES  > SOCIOLOGY

GENERAL

403 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
TASTE IN AN AGE OF ENDLESS CHOICE
Written by TOM VANDERBILT

Format: Trade Paperback, 400 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 04/18/2017

Price: $16.95

ISBN: 978-0-307-94859-5

Why do we get so embarrassed when a colleague wears the same shirt? Why do we eat the same thing for breakfast every day, but seek out novelty at lunch and dinner? How has streaming changed the way Netflix makes recommendations? Why do people think the music of their youth is the best? How can you spot a fake review on Yelp?

Our preferences and opinions are constantly being shaped by countless forces – especially in the digital age with its nonstop procession of “thumbs up” and “likes” and...

Read More >

THE EXTRAORDINARY STORY OF THE LAST TRUE HERMIT
Written by MICHAEL FINKEL

Format: Hardcover, 224 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 03/07/2017

Price: $25.95

ISBN: 978-1-101-87568-1

Many people dream of escaping modern life, but most will never act on it. This is the remarkable true story of a man who lived alone in the woods of Maine for 27 years, making this dream a reality—not out of anger at the world, but simply because he preferred to live on his own. 

In 1986, a shy and intelligent twenty-year-old named Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the forest. He would not have a conversation with another human being until...

Read More >

EXPLAINING THE EAST-WEST CULTURE GAP
Written by GISH JEN

Format: Hardcover, 336 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 02/28/2017

Price: $26.95

ISBN: 978-1-101-94782-1

A provocative and important study of the different ideas Easterners and Westerners have about the self and society and what this means for current debates in art, education, geopolitics, and business. 

Never have East and West come as close as they are today, yet we are still baffled by one another. Is our mantra "To thine own self be true"? Or do we believe we belong to something larger than ourselves--a family, a religion, a troop--that claims our first allegiance? Gish Jen--drawing on a...

Read More >

THE LOTTERY OF BIRTH, THE ILLUSION OF CONSENT, AND THE FIGHT FOR OUR FUTURE
Written by RAOUL MARTINEZ

Format: Hardcover, 512 pages

Publisher: Pantheon

On Sale: 01/31/2017

Price: $29.95

ISBN: 978-0-307-91164-3

The ideal of freedom is at the heart of our political and economic system. It is foundational to our sense of justice, our way of life, our conception of what it is to be human. But are we free in the way that we think we are?

In Creating Freedom, Raoul Martinez brings together a torrent of mind-expanding ideas, facts, and arguments to dismantle sacred myths central to our society—myths about free will, free markets, free media, and free elections. From the lottery of our birth to the...

Read More >

THE INSIDE STORY OF HOW CITIZENS AND SCIENCE TAMED AIDS
Written by DAVID FRANCE

Format: Hardcover, 640 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 11/29/2016

Price: $30.00

ISBN: 978-0-307-70063-6

The definitive history of the successful battle to halt the AIDS epidemic—from the creator of, and inspired by, the seminal documentary How to Survive a Plague

A riveting, powerful telling of the story of the grassroots movement of activists, many of them in a life-or-death struggle, who seized upon scientific research to help develop the drugs that turned HIV from a mostly fatal infection to a manageable disease. Ignored by public officials, religious leaders, and the nation at large, and...

Read More >

THE CARIBBEAN AND THE WORLD

Format: Hardcover, 464 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 11/22/2016

Price: $28.95

ISBN: 978-0-385-34976-5

A masterwork of travel literature and of history: voyaging from Cuba to Jamaica, Puerto Rico to Trinidad, Haiti to Barbados, and islands in between, Joshua Jelly-Schapiro offers a kaleidoscopic portrait of each society, its culture and politics, connecting this region’s common heritage to its fierce grip on the world’s imagination.
 
From the moment Columbus gazed out from the Santa María's deck in 1492 at what he mistook for an island off Asia, the Caribbean has been subjected to the...

Read More >

THE EPIC SCRAMBLE TO GET INSIDE OUR HEADS
Written by TIM WU

Format: Hardcover, 416 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 10/18/2016

Price: $28.95

ISBN: 978-0-385-35201-7

From Tim Wu, author of the award-winning The Master Switch and who coined the phrase "net neutrality"--a revelatory look at the rise of "attention harvesting," and its transformative effect on our society and our selves. 

Attention merchant: an industrial-scale harvester of human attention. A firm whose business model is the mass capture of attention for resale to advertisers.

In nearly every moment of our waking lives, we face a barrage of advertising enticements, branding efforts, sponsored...

Read More >

HOW ONE PRINCIPAL IN A TOUGH COMMUNITY IS INSPIRING THE WORLD

Format: Hardcover, 288 pages

Publisher: Viking

On Sale: 08/30/2016

Price: $26.00

ISBN: 978-1-101-98025-5

Be inspired by the magnetic young principal who  “stands on the front line of the fight to educate America's children." (Brandon Stanton, author of Humans of New York ) and the book that Essence calls   "Essential reading."
 
In 2010, Nadia Lopez started her middle-grade public school, Mott Hall Bridges Academy, in one of America’s poorest communities, in a record heat wave—and crime wave. Everything was an uphill battle—to get the school approved, to recruit faculty and students, to solve a...

Read More >

MY JOURNEY FROM SHAME TO STRENGTH
Written by LIZ PRYOR

Format: Hardcover, 272 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 06/28/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99800-9

For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strength in the most unlikely place

In 1979, Liz Pryor is a seventeen-year-old girl from a good family in the wealthy Chicago suburbs. Halfway through her senior year of high school, she discovers that she is pregnant—a fact her parents are determined to keep a secret from her friends, siblings, and community forever. One snowy January day, after driving across three...

Read More >

THE ART AND SCIENCE OF LOVING THE PLACE YOU LIVE
Written by MELODY WARNICK

Format: Hardcover, 320 pages

Publisher: Viking

On Sale: 06/21/2016

Price: $26.00

ISBN: 978-0-525-42912-8

In the spirit of Gretchen Rubin’s megaseller The Happiness Project and Eric Weiner’s The Geography of Bliss, a journalist embarks on a project to discover what it takes to love where you live

The average restless American will move 11.7 times in a lifetime. For Melody Warnick, it was move #6, from Austin, Texas, to Blacksburg, Virginia, that threatened to unhinge her. In the lonely aftermath of unpacking, she wondered: Aren’t we supposed to put down roots at some point? How does the place we...

Read More >

THE 400-YEAR UNTOLD HISTORY OF CLASS IN AMERICA
Written by NANCY ISENBERG

Format: Hardcover, 480 pages

Publisher: Viking

On Sale: 06/21/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-670-78597-1

The New York Times bestseller
A New York Times Notable and Critics’ Top Book of 2016
Longlisted for the PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction
One of NPR's 10 Best Books Of 2016 Faced Tough Topics Head On
NPR's Book Concierge Guide To 2016’s Great Reads
San Francisco Chronicle's Best of 2016: 100 recommended books
A Washington Post Notable Nonfiction Book of 2016
Globe & Mail 100 Best of 2016

Formidable and truth-dealing . . . necessary. The New York Times

“This eye-opening investigation...

Read More >

THE NEW SCIENCE OF CRIMINAL INJUSTICE
Written by ADAM BENFORADO

Format: Trade Paperback, 416 pages

Publisher: Broadway Books

On Sale: 06/14/2016

Price: $17.00

ISBN: 978-0-770-43778-7

"A law professor sounds an explosive alarm on the hidden unfairness of our legal system." Kirkus Reviews, starred
 

A child is gunned down by a police officer; an investigator ignores critical clues in a case; an innocent man confesses to a crime he did not commit; a jury acquits a killer. The evidence is all around us: Our system of justice is fundamentally broken.
 
But it’s not for the reasons we tend to think, as law professor Adam Benforado argues in this eye-opening, galvanizing book....

Read More >