Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
SOCIAL SCIENCES  > SOCIOLOGY

GENERAL

397 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
THE INSIDE STORY OF HOW CITIZENS AND SCIENCE TAMED AIDS
Written by DAVID FRANCE

Format: Hardcover, 640 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 11/29/2016

Price: $30.00

ISBN: 978-0-307-70063-6

The definitive history of the successful battle to halt the AIDS epidemic—from the creator of, and inspired by, the seminal documentary How to Survive a Plague

A riveting, powerful telling of the story of the grassroots movement of activists, many of them in a life-or-death struggle, who seized upon scientific research to help develop the drugs that turned HIV from a mostly fatal infection to a manageable disease. Ignored by public officials, religious leaders, and the nation at large, and...

Read More >

THE CARIBBEAN AND THE WORLD

Format: Hardcover, 464 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 11/22/2016

Price: $28.95

ISBN: 978-0-385-34976-5

A masterwork of travel literature and of history: voyaging from Cuba to Jamaica, Puerto Rico to Trinidad, Haiti to Barbados, and islands in between, Joshua Jelly-Schapiro offers a kaleidoscopic portrait of each society, its culture and politics, connecting this region’s common heritage to its fierce grip on the world’s imagination.
 
From the moment Columbus gazed out from the Santa María's deck in 1492 at what he mistook for an island off Asia, the Caribbean has been subjected to the...

Read More >

HOW ONE PRINCIPAL IN A TOUGH COMMUNITY IS INSPIRING THE WORLD

Format: Hardcover, 288 pages

Publisher: Viking

On Sale: 08/30/2016

Price: $26.00

ISBN: 978-1-101-98025-5

Be inspired by the magnetic young principal who  “stands on the front line of the fight to educate America's children." (Brandon Stanton, author of Humans of New York ) and the book that Essence calls   "Essential reading."
 
In 2010, Nadia Lopez started her middle-grade public school, Mott Hall Bridges Academy, in one of America’s poorest communities, in a record heat wave—and crime wave. Everything was an uphill battle—to get the school approved, to recruit faculty and students, to solve a...

Read More >

MY JOURNEY FROM SHAME TO STRENGTH
Written by LIZ PRYOR

Format: Hardcover, 272 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 06/28/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99800-9

For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strength in the most unlikely place

In 1979, Liz Pryor is a seventeen-year-old girl from a good family in the wealthy Chicago suburbs. Halfway through her senior year of high school, she discovers that she is pregnant—a fact her parents are determined to keep a secret from her friends, siblings, and community forever. One snowy January day, after driving across three...

Read More >

THE ART AND SCIENCE OF LOVING THE PLACE YOU LIVE
Written by MELODY WARNICK

Format: Hardcover, 320 pages

Publisher: Viking

On Sale: 06/21/2016

Price: $26.00

ISBN: 978-0-525-42912-8

In the spirit of Gretchen Rubin’s megaseller The Happiness Project and Eric Weiner’s The Geography of Bliss, a journalist embarks on a project to discover what it takes to love where you live

The average restless American will move 11.7 times in a lifetime. For Melody Warnick, it was move #6, from Austin, Texas, to Blacksburg, Virginia, that threatened to unhinge her. In the lonely aftermath of unpacking, she wondered: Aren’t we supposed to put down roots at some point? How does the place we...

Read More >

THE 400-YEAR UNTOLD HISTORY OF CLASS IN AMERICA
Written by NANCY ISENBERG

Format: Hardcover, 480 pages

Publisher: Viking

On Sale: 06/21/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-670-78597-1

The New York Times bestseller
A New York Times Notable and Critics’ Top Book of 2016
Longlisted for the PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction
One of NPR's 10 Best Books Of 2016 Faced Tough Topics Head On
NPR's Book Concierge Guide To 2016’s Great Reads
San Francisco Chronicle's Best of 2016: 100 recommended books
A Washington Post Notable Nonfiction Book of 2016
Globe & Mail 100 Best of 2016

Formidable and truth-dealing . . . necessary. The New York Times

“This eye-opening investigation...

Read More >

THE NEW SCIENCE OF CRIMINAL INJUSTICE
Written by ADAM BENFORADO

Format: Trade Paperback, 416 pages

Publisher: Broadway Books

On Sale: 06/14/2016

Price: $17.00

ISBN: 978-0-770-43778-7

"A law professor sounds an explosive alarm on the hidden unfairness of our legal system." Kirkus Reviews, starred
 

A child is gunned down by a police officer; an investigator ignores critical clues in a case; an innocent man confesses to a crime he did not commit; a jury acquits a killer. The evidence is all around us: Our system of justice is fundamentally broken.
 
But it’s not for the reasons we tend to think, as law professor Adam Benforado argues in this eye-opening, galvanizing book....

Read More >

A DAUGHTER, A FATHER, AND A JOURNEY BACK
Written by ELISHA COOPER

Format: Hardcover, 160 pages

Publisher: Pantheon

On Sale: 06/14/2016

Price: $23.95

ISBN: 978-1-101-87123-2

The award-winning children's book author confronts a new world when faced with his daughter's illness in this frank, moving, and beautiful memoir.

Elisha Cooper spends his mornings writing and illustrating children's books, his afternoons playing with his two daughters. The phrase he hates most is "throw like a girl," so he teaches them to climb trees and play ball. But when he discovers a lump in five-year-old Zoë's midsection as she sits on his lap at a Chicago Cubs game, everything...

Read More >

A LOST PET'S EXTRAORDINARY JOURNEY AND THE FAMILY WHO BROUGHT HIM HOME
Written by PAULS TOUTONGHI

Format: Hardcover, 272 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 06/14/2016

Price: $25.00

ISBN: 978-1-101-94701-2

The true story of a lost dog’s journey and a family’s furious search to find him before it is too late.

Saturday, October 10, 1998. Fielding Marshall is hiking on the Appalachian Trail. His beloved dog—a six-year-old golden retriever mix named Gonker—bolts into the woods. Just like that, he has vanished. And Gonker has Addison’s disease. If he’s not found in twenty-three days, he will die.

The search begins. Fielding and his father, John, are dispatched to the field. They have the family’s...

Read More >

THE TRANSFORMATION OF AN AMERICAN FAMILY
Written by AMY ELLIS NUTT

Format: Trade Paperback, 320 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 06/07/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99543-5

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY PEOPLEAND ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY MEN’S JOURNAL• A STONEWALL HONOR BOOK IN NONFICTION • FINALIST FOR THE LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD FOR TRANSGENDER NONFICTION

Selected for common reading at Nassau Community College


The inspiring true story of a transgender girl, her identical twin brother, and an ordinary American family’s extraordinary journey to understand, nurture, and...

Read More >

AMERICA AT WAR IN IRAQ AND AFGHANISTAN
Written by J. KAEL WESTON

Format: Hardcover, 608 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 05/24/2016

Price: $28.95

ISBN: 978-0-385-35112-6

A powerfully written firsthand account of the human costs of conflict.

J. Kael Weston spent seven years on the ground in Iraq and Afghanistan working for the U.S. State Department in some of the most dangerous frontline locations. Upon his return home, while traveling the country to pay respect to the dead and wounded, he asked himself: When will these wars end? How will they be remembered and memorialized? What lessons can we learn from them?

These are questions with no quick answers, but...

Read More >

BIG CITY DREAMS ALONG A SHANGHAI ROAD
Written by ROB SCHMITZ

Format: Hardcover, 336 pages

Publisher: Crown

On Sale: 05/17/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-553-41808-8

An unforgettable portrait of individuals who hope, struggle, and grow along a single street cutting through the heart of China’s most exhilarating metropolis, from one of the most acclaimed broadcast journalists reporting on China today.
 
Modern Shanghai: a global city in the midst of a renaissance, where dreamers arrive each day to partake in a mad torrent of capital, ideas, and opportunity. Marketplace’s Rob Schmitz is one of them. He immerses himself in his neighborhood, forging deep...

Read More >