Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
SOCIAL SCIENCES  > SOCIOLOGY

CULTURAL

360 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
POVERTY AND PROFIT IN THE AMERICAN CITY
Written by MATTHEW DESMOND

Format: Trade Paperback, 448 pages

Publisher: Broadway Books

On Sale: 02/28/2017

Price: $17.00

ISBN: 978-0-553-44745-3

AWARD 2015 - MacArthur 'Genius' Award¶
FINALIST 2016 - Kirkus Prize for Non-Fiction¶
SHORTLIST 2017 - Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction¶
FINALIST 2017 - PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction¶
SHORTLIST 2016 - 800-CEO-READ Business Book Award¶

Named One of the Best Books of the Year by The New York Times Book Review The Boston Globe • The Washington Post • NPR • Fortune San Francisco Chronicle Milwaukee Journal Sentinel St. Louis Post-Dispatch • Politico •...

Read More >

MY JOURNEY FROM SHAME TO STRENGTH
Written by LIZ PRYOR

Format: Hardcover, 272 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 06/28/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99800-9

For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strength in the most unlikely place

In 1979, Liz Pryor is a seventeen-year-old girl from a good family in the wealthy Chicago suburbs. Halfway through her senior year of high school, she discovers that she is pregnant—a fact her parents are determined to keep a secret from her friends, siblings, and community forever. One snowy January day, after driving across three...

Read More >

BIG CITY DREAMS ALONG A SHANGHAI ROAD
Written by ROB SCHMITZ

Format: Hardcover, 336 pages

Publisher: Crown

On Sale: 05/17/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-553-41808-8

An unforgettable portrait of individuals who hope, struggle, and grow along a single street cutting through the heart of China’s most exhilarating metropolis, from one of the most acclaimed broadcast journalists reporting on China today.
 
Modern Shanghai: a global city in the midst of a renaissance, where dreamers arrive each day to partake in a mad torrent of capital, ideas, and opportunity. Marketplace’s Rob Schmitz is one of them. He immerses himself in his neighborhood, forging deep...

Read More >

MAKING A LIFE OF ONE'S OWN
Written by KATE BOLICK

Format: Trade Paperback, 352 pages

Publisher: Broadway Books

On Sale: 04/19/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-385-34715-0

A New York Times Book Review Notable Book

“Whom to marry, and when will it happen—these two questions define every woman’s existence.”


So begins Spinster, a revelatory and slyly erudite look at the pleasures and possibilities of remaining single. Using her own experiences as a starting point, journalist and cultural critic Kate Bolick invites us into her carefully considered, passionately lived life, weaving together the past and present to examine why­ she—along with over 100 million...

Read More >

AND OTHER CONVERSATIONS
Written by JANE JACOBS

Format: Trade Paperback, 128 pages

Publisher: Melville House

On Sale: 04/19/2016

Price: $15.95

ISBN: 978-1-612-19534-6

“Jane Jacobs is the kind of writer who produces in her readers such changed ways of looking at the world that she becomes an oracle, or final authority.” —The New York Sun

Hailed by the New York Times Book Review as “perhaps the single most influential work in the history of town planning,” Jane Jacobs’s The Death and Life of Great American Cities was instantly recognized as a masterpiece upon its publication in 1961. In the decades that followed, Jacobs remained a brilliant and revered...

Read More >

THE SECRETS OF BEING PRODUCTIVE IN LIFE AND BUSINESS
Written by CHARLES DUHIGG

Format: Hardcover, 400 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 03/08/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99339-4

From the author of the New York Times bestselling phenomenon The Power of Habit comes a fascinating new book that explores the science of productivity, and why, in today’s world, managing how you think—rather than what you think—can transform your life.

A young woman drops out of a PhD program and starts playing poker. By training herself to envision contradictory futures, she learns to anticipate her opponents’ missteps—and becomes one of the most successful players in the world.

A group of...

Read More >

SOCIAL MEDIA AND THE SECRET LIVES OF TEENAGERS
Written by NANCY JO SALES

Format: Hardcover, 416 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 02/23/2016

Price: $26.95

ISBN: 978-0-385-35392-2

Instagram. Whisper. Yik Yak. Vine. YouTube. Kik. Ask.fm. Tinder. The dominant force in the lives of girls coming of age in America today is social media. What it is doing to an entire generation of young women is the subject of award-winningVanity Fair writer Nancy Jo Sales’s riveting and explosive American Girls.

With extraordinary intimacy and precision, Sales captures what it feels like to be a girl in America today. From Montclair to Manhattan and Los Angeles, from Florida and Arizona to...

Read More >

LIVING IN THE AFTERMATH OF TRAGEDY
Written by SUE KLEBOLD
Introduction by ANDREW SOLOMON

Format: Hardcover, 336 pages

Publisher: Crown

On Sale: 02/15/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-1-101-90275-2

“[Sue Klebold] was an ordinary suburban mother before Columbine...
but in the wake of that tragedy, she found the strength to extract wisdom from her devastation...”
–Andrew Solomon, from his introduction to the book

On April 20, 1999, Eric Harris and Dylan Klebold walked into Columbine High School in Littleton, Colorado. Over the course of minutes, they would kill twelve students and a teacher and wound twenty-four others before taking their own lives.
 
For the last sixteen years, Sue...

Read More >

LIFE AND DEATH IN A STORM-RAVAGED HOSPITAL
Written by SHERI FINK

Format: Trade Paperback, 592 pages

Publisher: Broadway Books

On Sale: 01/26/2016

Price: $17.00

ISBN: 978-0-307-71897-6

Winner of the:
National Book Critics Circle Award
Ridenhour Book Prize
J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize
Los Angeles Times Book Prize
Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance Book Award
American Medical Writers Association Medical Book Award
NASW Science in Society Journalism Book Award
 
Finalist for the:
New York Public Library’s Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism
ALA Andrew Carnegie Medal in Nonfiction
 
Shortlisted for the PEN/E.O. Wilson Science Writing Award
 
A Christian Science...

Read More >

POSTCAPITALISM AND A WORLD WITHOUT WORK

Format: Trade Paperback, 256 pages

Publisher: Verso

On Sale: 11/17/2015

Price: $19.95

ISBN: 978-1-784-78096-8

A major new manifesto for a high-tech future free from work

Neoliberalism isn’t working. Austerity is forcing millions into poverty and many more into precarious work, while the left remains trapped in stagnant political practices that offer no respite.

Inventing the Future is a bold new manifesto for life after capitalism. Against the confused understanding of our high-tech world by both the right and the left, this book claims that the emancipatory and future-oriented possibilities of our...

Read More >

A TRUE STORY OF MURDER IN AMERICA
Written by JILL LEOVY

Format: Trade Paperback, 384 pages

Publisher: Spiegel & Grau

On Sale: 10/27/2015

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-385-52999-0

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A masterly work of literary journalism about a senseless murder, a relentless detective, and the great plague of homicide in America.

 
On a warm spring evening in South Los Angeles, a young man is shot and killed on a sidewalk minutes away from his home, one of the thousands of black Americans murdered that year. His assailant runs down the street, jumps into an SUV, and vanishes, hoping to join the scores of killers in American cities who are never arrested for their...

Read More >

Written by GLORIA STEINEM

Format: Hardcover, 304 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 10/27/2015

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-679-45620-9

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • ONE OF O: THE OPRAH MAGAZINE’S TEN FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR • Gloria Steinem—writer, activist, organizer, and inspiring leader—now tells a story she has never told before, a candid account of her life as a traveler, a listener, and a catalyst for change.

When people ask me why I still have hope and energy after all these years, I always say: Because I travel. Taking to the road—by which I mean letting the road take you—changed who I thought I was. The road is...

Read More >