Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
SOCIAL SCIENCES  > PSYCHOLOGY

GENDER

99 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
SOCIAL MEDIA AND THE SECRET LIVES OF TEENAGERS
Written by NANCY JO SALES

Format: Trade Paperback, 416 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 01/24/2017

Price: $16.95

ISBN: 978-0-804-17318-6

Award-winning Vanity Fair writer Nancy Jo Sales crisscrossed the country talking to more than two hundred girls between the ages of thirteen and nineteen about their experiences online and off. They are coming of age online in a hypersexualized culture that has normalized extreme behavior, from pornography to the casual exchange of nude photographs; a culture rife with a virulent new strain of sexism; a culture in which teenagers are spending so much time on technology and social media that...

Read More >

MY JOURNEY FROM SHAME TO STRENGTH
Written by LIZ PRYOR

Format: Hardcover, 272 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 06/28/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99800-9

For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strength in the most unlikely place

In 1979, Liz Pryor is a seventeen-year-old girl from a good family in the wealthy Chicago suburbs. Halfway through her senior year of high school, she discovers that she is pregnant—a fact her parents are determined to keep a secret from her friends, siblings, and community forever. One snowy January day, after driving across three...

Read More >

THE TRANSFORMATION OF AN AMERICAN FAMILY
Written by AMY ELLIS NUTT

Format: Trade Paperback, 320 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 06/07/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99543-5

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY PEOPLEAND ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY MEN’S JOURNAL• A STONEWALL HONOR BOOK IN NONFICTION • FINALIST FOR THE LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD FOR TRANSGENDER NONFICTION

Selected for common reading at Nassau Community College


The inspiring true story of a transgender girl, her identical twin brother, and an ordinary American family’s extraordinary journey to understand, nurture, and...

Read More >

SOCIAL MEDIA AND THE SECRET LIVES OF TEENAGERS
Written by NANCY JO SALES

Format: Hardcover, 416 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 02/23/2016

Price: $26.95

ISBN: 978-0-385-35392-2

Instagram. Whisper. Yik Yak. Vine. YouTube. Kik. Ask.fm. Tinder. The dominant force in the lives of girls coming of age in America today is social media. What it is doing to an entire generation of young women is the subject of award-winningVanity Fair writer Nancy Jo Sales’s riveting and explosive American Girls.

With extraordinary intimacy and precision, Sales captures what it feels like to be a girl in America today. From Montclair to Manhattan and Los Angeles, from Florida and Arizona to...

Read More >

GUIDING TEENAGE GIRLS THROUGH THE SEVEN TRANSITIONS INTO ADULTHOOD
Written by LISA DAMOUR

Format: Hardcover, 352 pages

Publisher: Ballantine Books

On Sale: 02/09/2016

Price: $27.00

ISBN: 978-0-553-39305-7

Lisa Damour, Ph.D., director of the internationally renowned Laurel School’s Center for Research on Girls, pulls back the curtain on the teenage years and shows why your daughter’s erratic and confusing behavior is actually healthy, necessary, and natural. Untangled explains what’s going on, prepares parents for what’s to come, and lets them know when it’s time to worry.

In this sane, highly engaging, and informed guide for parents of daughters, Dr. Damour draws on decades of experience and...

Read More >

A MEMOIR
Written by AMY JO BURNS

Format: Trade Paperback, 216 pages

Publisher: Beacon Press

On Sale: 09/08/2015

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-807-05227-3

Amy Jo Burns grew up in Mercury, Pennsylvania, an industrial town humbled by the steel collapse of the 1980s. Instead of the construction booms and twelve-hour shifts her parents’ generation had known, the Mercury Amy Jo knew was marred by empty houses, old strip mines, and vacant lots. It wasn’t quite a ghost town—only because many people had no choice but to stay.
 
The year Burns turned ten, this sleepy town suddenly woke up. Howard Lotte, its beloved piano teacher, was accused of sexually...

Read More >

THE RECKONING. THE RUMBLE. THE REVOLUTION.
Written by BRENé BROWN

Format: Hardcover, 336 pages

Publisher: Spiegel & Grau

On Sale: 08/25/2015

Price: $27.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99582-4

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • When we deny our stories, they define us. When we own our stories, we get to write the ending.

Social scientist Brené Brown has ignited a global conversation on courage, vulnerability, shame, and worthiness. Her pioneering work uncovered a profound truth: Vulnerability—the willingness to show up and be seen with no guarantee of outcome—is the only path to more love, belonging, creativity, and joy. But living a brave life is not always easy: We are, inevitably,...

Read More >

THE DALAI LAMA'S VISION FOR OUR WORLD
Written by DANIEL GOLEMAN
Introduction by DALAI LAMA

Format: Hardcover, 272 pages

Publisher: Bantam

On Sale: 06/23/2015

Price: $26.00

ISBN: 978-0-553-39489-4

For more than half a century, in such books as The Art of Happiness and The Dalai Lama’s Little Book of Inner Peace, the Dalai Lama has guided us along the path to compassion and taught us how to improve our inner lives. In A Force for Good, with the help of his longtime friend Daniel Goleman, the New York Times bestselling author of Emotional Intelligence, the Dalai Lama explains how to turn our compassionate energy outward. This revelatory and inspiring work provides a singular vision for...

Read More >

Written by DAVID BROOKS

Format: Hardcover, 320 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 04/14/2015

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99325-7

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“I wrote this book not sure I could follow the road to character, but I wanted at least to know what the road looks like and how other people have trodden it.”—David Brooks

 
With the wisdom, humor, curiosity, and sharp insights that have brought millions of readers to his New York Times column and his previous bestsellers, David Brooks has consistently illuminated our daily lives in surprising and original ways. In The Social Animal, he explored the neuroscience of...

Read More >

SURVIVING THE TRUTHS THAT CHANGE OUR LIVES
Written by JANE ISAY

Format: Trade Paperback, 208 pages

Publisher: Anchor

On Sale: 10/07/2014

Price: $15.95

ISBN: 978-0-307-74224-7

Secrets and Lies is a compellingly readable journey into the realm of family secrets, offering lessons and insights for those who are hiding the truth and for those who discover what has long been hidden.

Jane Isay was both a secret finder and a secret keeper. After fifteen years of marriage, her husband revealed he was gay, but together they decided to keep it a secret for the sake of their two sons. Building on her personal experience, sixty intimate interviews, and extensive research into...

Read More >

MY SEARCH FOR WELLNESS, VOICE AND MEANING IN THE SECOND HALF OF LIFE
Written by MARTHA MORAVEC

Format: Trade Paperback, 256 pages

Publisher: Hatherleigh Press

On Sale: 08/26/2014

Price: $15.95

ISBN: 978-1-578-26505-3

The voice of a generation, speaking on issues of mortality, body image, health and dreams deferred, Magnificent Obesity recounts one woman’s effort to look honestly and compassionately at her obesity through the lenses of anxiety, addiction, aging and agnosticism. Although things don’t always turn out the way she’d hoped or planned, Martha’s indomitable spirit and her conviction that it’s never too late to grow up, that it is possible to feel born again at any age, and that there is no...

Read More >

Written by MOYOCO ANNO

Format: Trade Paperback, 264 pages

Publisher: Vertical

On Sale: 07/22/2014

Price: $16.95

ISBN: 978-1-939-13043-3

From the pen of Moyoco Anno comes a stunning tale of self-image and self-loathing. In Clothes Called Fat details the lives of young women earnestly revealing the struggles women may have with their bodies and sexuality.    

Noko appears to be living a great life, she's got a good job and a loving boyfriend, but beneath a thin veneer is a young woman who is struggling with her self-image and self-confidence as she fights to keep her weight down. To Noko, being five pounds overweight means...

Read More >