Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
ARTS & HUMANITIES  > LITERATURE AND DRAMA

SCIENCE FICTION

135 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
A HISTORY
Written by JAMES GLEICK

Format: Hardcover, 352 pages

Publisher: Pantheon

On Sale: 09/27/2016

Price: $26.95

ISBN: 978-0-307-90879-7

From the acclaimed author of The Information and Chaos, here is a mind-bending exploration of time travel: its subversive origins, its evolution in literature and science, and its influence on our understanding of time itself.

The story begins at the turn of the previous century, with the young H. G. Wells writing and rewriting the fantastic tale that became his first book and an international sensation: The Time Machine. It was an era when a host of forces were converging to transmute the...

Read More >

Written by LILY BROOKS-DALTON

Format: Hardcover, 272 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 08/09/2016

Price: $26.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99889-4

For readers of Station Eleven and The Snow Child, Lily Brooks-Dalton’s haunting debut is the unforgettable story of two outsiders—a lonely scientist in the Arctic and an astronaut trying to return to Earth—as they grapple with love, regret, and survival in a world transformed.
 
Augustine, a brilliant, aging astronomer, is consumed by the stars. For years he has lived in remote outposts, studying the sky for evidence of how the universe began. At his latest posting, in a research center in the...

Read More >

Format: Trade Paperback, 1216 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 07/12/2016

Price: $25.00

ISBN: 978-1-101-91009-2

What if life was neverending? What if you could change your body to adapt to an alien ecology? What if the pope were a robot? Spanning galaxies and millennia, this comprehensive anthology showcases classic contributions from H. G. Wells, Arthur C. Clarke, Octavia E. Butler, and Kurt Vonnegut, alongside a century of the eccentrics, rebels, and visionaries who have inspired generations of readers. Within its pages, you’ll find beloved worlds of space opera, hard SF, cyberpunk, the New Wave,...

Read More >

A NOVEL (BOOK THREE OF THE PASSAGE TRILOGY)
Written by JUSTIN CRONIN

Format: Hardcover, 624 pages

Publisher: Ballantine Books

On Sale: 05/24/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-345-50500-2

“A thrilling finale to a trilogy that will stand as one of the great achievements in American fantasy fiction.”—Stephen King
 
You followed The Passage. You faced The Twelve. Now enter The City of Mirrors for the final reckoning. As the bestselling epic races to its breathtaking finale, Justin Cronin’s band of hardened survivors await the second coming of unspeakable darkness.
 
The world we knew is gone. What world will rise in its place?
 
The Twelve have been destroyed and the terrifying...

Read More >

Written by ANDY WEIR

Format: Trade Paperback, 400 pages

Publisher: Broadway Books

On Sale: 05/03/2016

Price: $15.00

ISBN: 978-0-804-18935-4

New Classroom Edition of The Martian includes

Classroom-appropriate language

Discussion questions and activities
Q&A with Andy Weir


Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. 

Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive—and even if he could get word out,...

Read More >

A NOVEL BY THE AUTHOR OF READY PLAYER ONE
Written by ERNEST CLINE

Format: Trade Paperback, 384 pages

Publisher: Broadway Books

On Sale: 04/12/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-804-13727-0

Zack Lightman has spent his life dreaming. Dreaming that the real world could be a little more like the countless science-fiction books, movies, and video games he’s spent his life consuming. Dreaming that one day, some fantastic, world-altering event will shatter the monotony of his humdrum existence and whisk him off on some grand space-faring adventure.
 
But hey, there’s nothing wrong with a little escapism, right? After all, Zack tells himself, he knows the differ­ence between fantasy...

Read More >

Written by PAOLO BACIGALUPI

Format: Trade Paperback, 384 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 04/05/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-804-17153-3

WATER IS POWER
 
Paolo Bacigalupi, New York Times best-selling author of The Windup Girl and National Book Award finalist, delivers a near-future thriller that casts new light on how we live today—and what may be in store for us tomorrow.

The American Southwest has been decimated by drought. Nevada and Arizona skirmish over dwindling shares of the Colorado River, while California watches, deciding if it should just take the whole river all for itself. Into the fray steps Las Vegas water knife...

Read More >

A NOVEL
Written by IAIN PEARS

Format: Hardcover, 528 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 02/09/2016

Price: $27.95

ISBN: 978-1-101-94682-4

From the author of the international best seller An Instance of the Fingerpost, Arcadia is an astonishing work of imagination. 

Three interlocking worlds. Four people looking for answers. But who controls the future—or the past?

In 1960s Oxford, Professor Henry Lytten is attempting to write a fantasy novel that forgoes the magic of his predecessors, J. R. R. Tolkien and C. S. Lewis. He finds an unlikely confidante in his quick-witted, inquisitive young neighbor Rosie. One day, while chasing...

Read More >

Written by NED BEAUMAN

Format: Trade Paperback, 256 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 01/26/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-804-17216-5

South London: foxes are behaving strangely, Burmese immigrants are going missing, and everyone is trying to get hold of a new party drug called Glow. Raf, a young man who suffers from a rare sleep disorder, spends his days walking Rose, a bull terrier who guards a pirate radio station, and his nights at raves in warehouses and launderettes. When his friend Theo vanishes without a trace, Raf’s efforts to find him lead straight into the heart of a global corporate conspiracy. Meanwhile, he's...

Read More >

SCIENCE OF DISCWORLD IV: A NOVEL

Format: Trade Paperback, 368 pages

Publisher: Anchor

On Sale: 12/22/2015

Price: $15.95

ISBN: 978-0-804-16900-4

The wizards of Unseen University are again called upon to defend their creation, Roundworld, this time in a courtroom—where its very existence hangs in the balance.
 
The Omnians fervently believe that the world is round, not flat, and view the discovery of Roundworld as a vindication of their faith. To leave this artifact in the hands of the wizards would be unacceptable. Not only do the academics hold that Discworld is flat, but by creating the Roundworld universe, they have elevated...

Read More >

Written by PETER CAREY

Format: Trade Paperback, 384 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 12/08/2015

Price: $15.95

ISBN: 978-0-804-17132-8

In this dark, suspenseful, and seriously funny novel, two-time Booker winner Peter Carey takes us to the place where the cyber underworld collides with international politics. When Gaby Baillieux, Australia’s most formidable hacker, releases the Angel Worm virus into her country’s prison system, cell doors are opened and inmates walk free. Since those prisons use American software, the doors in thousands of jails in the United States are opened as well. Is this an accident—or a declaration...

Read More >

Written by TERRY PRATCHETT

Format: Hardcover, 128 pages

Publisher: Doubleday

On Sale: 10/13/2015

Price: $19.95

ISBN: 978-0-385-53824-4

A charming tale for people of all ages (but especially for young Sam Vimes) from the pen of Miss Felicity Beedle, Discworld's premier children's author.
 
From Snuff: 'Vimes' prompt arrival got a nod of approval from Sybil, who gingerly handed him a new book to read to Young Sam. Vimes looked at the cover. The title was The World of Poo. When his wife was out of eyeshot he carefully leafed through it. Well, okay, you had to accept that the world had moved on and these days fairy stories were...

Read More >