Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
ARTS & HUMANITIES  > LITERATURE AND DRAMA  > POETRY

AMERICAN

255 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
AND OTHER POEMS
Written by ROBIN COSTE LEWIS

Format: Trade Paperback, 176 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 11/21/2017

Price: $19.95

ISBN: 978-1-101-91120-4

Now in paperback, this National Book Award-winning debut poetry collection is a meditation on the black female figure through time.

Robin Coste Lewis's electrifying collection is a triptych that begins and ends with lyric poems meditating on the roles desire and race play in the construction of the self. In the center of the collection is the title poem, "Voyage of the Sable Venus," an amazing narrative made up entirely of titles of artworks from ancient times to the present--titles that...

Read More >

Written by MARGE PIERCY

Format: Trade Paperback, 192 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 11/07/2017

Price: $19.95

ISBN: 978-0-804-17320-9

Now in paperback, a collection to treasure from one of our most popular poets: poems that range from the Detroit of her childhood to her current life on Cape Cod, from deep appreciations of the natural world to elegies for lost friends and fellow poets.

In her trademark style combining the sublime with gritty reality, Marge Piercy describes the night she was born: "the sky burned red / over Detroit and sirens sharpened their knives. / The elms made tents of solace over grimy / streets and...

Read More >

POEMS
Written by JANE HIRSHFIELD

Format: Trade Paperback, 128 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 02/21/2017

Price: $17.95

ISBN: 978-0-345-80685-7

An incandescent collection from one of American poetry's most distinctive and essential voices 

The Beauty opens with a series of dappled, ranging "My" poems—"My Skeleton," "My Corkboard," "My Species," "My Weather"—in which Hirshfield uses materials both familiar and unexpected to explore the magnitude, singularity, and permeability of our shared existence. Of her memory, she writes, "Like the small soaps and shampoos / a traveler brings home / then won't use, / you, memory, / almost...

Read More >

Written by SHARON OLDS

Format: Hardcover, 128 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 09/20/2016

Price: $26.95

ISBN: 978-0-451-49362-0

Following the Pulitzer prize-winning collection Stag’s Leap, Sharon Olds gives us a stunning book of odes. Opening with the powerful and tender “Ode to the Hymen,” Olds addresses and embodies, in this age-old poetic form, many aspects of love and gender and sexual politics in a collection that is centered on the body and its structures and pleasures. The poems extend parts of her narrative as a daughter, mother, wife, lover, friend, and poet of conscience that will be familiar from earlier...

Read More >

Written by SHARON OLDS

Format: Trade Paperback, 128 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 09/20/2016

Price: $16.95

ISBN: 978-0-451-49364-4

Following the Pulitzer prize-winning collection Stag’s Leap, Sharon Olds gives us a stunning book of odes. Opening with the powerful and tender “Ode to the Hymen,” Olds addresses and embodies, in this age-old poetic form, many aspects of love and gender and sexual politics in a collection that is centered on the body and its structures and pleasures. The poems extend parts of her narrative as a daughter, mother, wife, lover, friend, and poet of conscience that will be familiar from earlier...

Read More >

POEMS
Written by AMIT MAJMUDAR

Format: Hardcover, 120 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 03/29/2016

Price: $26.95

ISBN: 978-1-101-94707-4

A captivating, no-holds-barred collection of new poems from an acclaimed poet and novelist with a fierce and original voice

Dothead is an exploration of selfhood both intense and exhilarating. Within the first pages, Amit Majmudar asserts the claims of both the self and the other: the title poem shows us the place of an Indian American teenager in the bland surround of a mostly white peer group, partaking of imagery from the poet’s Hindu tradition; the very next poem is a fanciful...

Read More >

POEMS OF FIELDS, MEADOWS, AND GRASSES
Edited by CECILY PARKS

Format: Hardcover, 256 pages

Publisher: Everyman's Library

On Sale: 03/15/2016

Price: $14.95

ISBN: 978-1-101-90773-3

The Echoing Green: Poems of Fields, Meadows, and Grasses is a unique anthology of poetry about the natural world.

The rich poetic history of grass spans the centuries, from the pastoral poems of ancient Rome to the fields and prairies of the New World. The rapturous idealizations of William Blake’s “echoing green” and William Wordsworth’s “splendour in the grass” stand in vivid contrast to the obliterating greenery on human battlefields in war poems such as John McCrae’s “In Flanders Fields”...

Read More >

Written by MARK STRAND

Format: Trade Paperback, 544 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 03/01/2016

Price: $26.00

ISBN: 978-0-804-17085-7

Longlisted for the 2014 National Book Award 

Gathered here is a half century’s magnificent work by the former poet laureate of the United States and Pulitzer Prize winner whose haunting and exemplary style has influenced an entire generation of American poets.

Beginning with the limited-edition volume Sleeping with One Eye Open, published in 1964, Mark Strand was hailed as a poet of piercing originality and elegance, and in the ensuing decades he has not swerved from his vision of how a poem...

Read More >

A POEM
Written by EDWARD HIRSCH

Format: Trade Paperback, 96 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 03/01/2016

Price: $16.95

ISBN: 978-0-804-17287-5

Longlisted for the 2014 National Book Award 

Never has there been a book of poems quite like Gabriel, in which a short life, a bewildering death, and the unanswerable sorrow of a father come together in such a sustained elegy. This unabashed sequence speaks directly from Hirsch’s heart to our own, without sentimentality. From its opening lines—“The funeral director opened the coffin / And there he was alone / From the waist up”—Hirsch’s account is poignantly direct and open to the strange...

Read More >

SELECTED AND UNCOLLECTED POEMS, 1995-2015
Written by KEVIN YOUNG

Format: Hardcover, 608 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 02/02/2016

Price: $30.00

ISBN: 978-0-385-35150-8

A rich and lively gathering of highlights from the first twenty years of an extraordinary career, interspersed with “B sides” and “bonus tracks” from this prolific and widely acclaimed poet. 

Blue Laws
 gathers poems written over the past two decades, drawing from all nine of Kevin Young’s previously published books of poetry and including a number of uncollected, often unpublished, poems. From his stunning lyric debut (Most Way Home, 1995) and the amazing “double album” life of Jean-Michel...

Read More >

NEW AND SELECTED POEMS
Written by J. D. MCCLATCHY

Format: Trade Paperback, 288 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 02/02/2016

Price: $19.95

ISBN: 978-0-804-16875-5

At last, a definitive selection of the elegant work by a poet at the forefront of American poetry for more than three decades.

With his first several books, J. D. McClatchy established himself as a poet of urbanity, intellect, and prismatic emotion, in the tradition of James Merrill, W. H. Auden, and Elizabeth Bishop––one who balances an exploration of the underworld of desire with a mastery of poetic form, and whose artistry reveals the riches and ruins of our “plundered hearts.” Now,...

Read More >

F

POEMS
Written by FRANZ WRIGHT

Format: Trade Paperback, 96 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 01/12/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-375-71215-9

In these riveting poems, Wright declares, “I’ve said all that / I had to say. / In writing. / I signed my name. / It’s death’s move.” As he considers his mortality, the poet finds a new elation and clarity on the page, handing over for our examination the flawed yet kneeling-in-gratitude self he has become. F stands both for Franz, the poet-speaker who represents all of us on our baffling lifelong journeys, and for the alphabet, the utility and sometimes brutality of our symbols. (It may be,...

Read More >