Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
ARTS & HUMANITIES  > LITERATURE AND DRAMA  > AMERICAN

WOMEN'S LITERATURE

207 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
(PENGUIN CLASSICS DELUXE EDITION)
Written by SHIRLEY JACKSON
Introduction by LAURA MILLER

Format: Trade Paperback, 272 pages

Publisher: Penguin Classics

On Sale: 09/27/2016

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-143-12937-0

In celebration of the Shirley Jackson centennial, a Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition of the greatest haunted house story ever written
 
First published in 1959, Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House has been hailed as a perfect work of unnerving terror. It is the story of four seekers who arrive at a notoriously unfriendly pile called Hill House: Dr. Montague, an occult scholar looking for solid evidence of a “haunting”; Theodora, his lighthearted assistant; Eleanor, a friendless,...

Read More >

Written by PATTI SMITH

Format: Trade Paperback, 288 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 08/23/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-1-101-91016-0

National Bestseller 

From the National Book Award–winning author of Just Kids: an unforgettable odyssey of a legendary artist, told through the cafés and haunts she has worked in around the world. It is a book Patti Smith has described as “a roadmap to my life.”

M Train begins in the tiny Greenwich Village café where Smith goes every morning for black coffee, ruminates on the world as it is and the world as it was, and writes in her notebook. Through prose that shifts fluidly between dreams...

Read More >

A NOVEL
Written by ANNE TYLER

Format: Hardcover, 240 pages

Publisher: Hogarth

On Sale: 06/21/2016

Price: $25.00

ISBN: 978-0-804-14126-0

Pulitzer Prize winner and American master Anne Tyler brings us an inspired, witty and irresistible contemporary take on one of Shakespeare’s most beloved comedies
 
Kate Battista feels stuck. How did she end up running house and home for her eccentric scientist father and uppity, pretty younger sister Bunny? Plus, she’s always in trouble at work – her pre-school charges adore her, but their parents don’t always appreciate her unusual opinions and forthright manner. 

Dr. Battista has other...

Read More >

A NOVEL
Written by EMMA CLINE

Format: Hardcover, 368 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 06/14/2016

Price: $27.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99860-3

An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong—this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’ The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.
 
Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their...

Read More >

NEW STORIES, ESSAYS, AND OTHER WRITINGS

Format: Trade Paperback, 448 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 06/07/2016

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98732-4

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • From the renowned author of “The Lottery” and The Haunting of Hill House, a spectacular new volume of previously unpublished and uncollected stories, essays, and other writings.

Features “Family Treasures,” nominated for the Edgar Award for Best Short Story

Shirley Jackson is one of the most important American writers of the last hundred years. Since her death in 1965, her place in the landscape of twentieth-century fiction has grown only more...

Read More >

A NOVEL
Written by SARA NOVIC

Format: Trade Paperback, 368 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 03/22/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98639-6

Winner of the ALA Alex Award

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BYBOOKPAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE • 
For readers ofThe Tiger’s Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl’s coming of age—and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.

 
Zagreb, 1991. Ana Jurić is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia’s capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across...

Read More >

Written by HELEN ELLIS

Format: Hardcover, 208 pages

Publisher: Doubleday

On Sale: 01/12/2016

Price: $24.00

ISBN: 978-0-385-54103-9

A sharp, funny, delightfully unhinged collection of stories set in the dark world of domesticity, American Housewife features murderous ladies who lunch, celebrity treasure hunters, and the best bra fitter south of the Mason Dixon line.

Meet the women of American Housewife: they wear lipstick, pearls, and sunscreen, even when it's cloudy. They casserole. They pinwheel. They pump the salad spinner like it's a CPR dummy. And then they kill a party crasher, carefully stepping around the body to...

Read More >

Written by LORE SEGAL

Format: Trade Paperback, 176 pages

Publisher: Melville House

On Sale: 11/04/2014

Price: $15.95

ISBN: 978-1-612-19392-2

The renowned New Yorker writer and Pulitzer Prize finalist Lore Segal delivers a hilarious, poignant and profoundly moving tale of living, loving and aging in America today.

At Cedars of Lebanon Hospital, doctors have noticed a marked uptick in Alzheimer’s patients. People who seemed perfectly lucid just a day earlier suddenly show signs of advanced dementia. Is it just normal aging, or an epidemic? Is it a coincidence, or a secret terrorist plot?

In the looking-glass world of Half the...

Read More >

A YOUNG WOMAN TELLS YOU WHAT SHE'S "LEARNED"
Written by LENA DUNHAM

Format: Hardcover, 288 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 09/30/2014

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99499-5

For readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey, and David Sedaris, this hilarious, wise, and fiercely candid collection of personal essays establishes Lena Dunham—the acclaimed creator, producer, and star of HBO’s Girls—as one of the most original young talents writing today.
 
In Not That Kind of Girl, Dunham illuminates the experiences that are part of making one’s way in the world: falling in love, feeling alone, being ten pounds overweight despite eating only health food, having to prove yourself in...

Read More >

Written by DAISY HERNANDEZ

Format: Hardcover, 200 pages

Publisher: Beacon Press

On Sale: 09/09/2014

Price: $24.95

ISBN: 978-0-807-01448-6

In this lyrical, coming-of-age memoir, Daisy Hernández chronicles what the women in her Cuban-Colombian family taught her about love, money, and race. These lessons—rooted in women’s experiences of migration, colonization, y cariño—define in evocative detail what it means to grow up female in an immigrant home.

In one story, Daisy sets out to defy the dictates of race and class that preoccupy her mother and tías, but dating women and transmen, and coming to identify as bisexual, leads her to...

Read More >

Written by ERIN LINDSAY MCCABE

Format: Trade Paperback, 336 pages

Publisher: Broadway Books

On Sale: 09/02/2014

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-804-13774-4

In this debut historical novel, based on true events, newlyweds Jeremiah and Rosetta dream of one day acquiring their own farm.  As the Civil War rages around them, Jeremiah enlists hoping the payment he receives will secure their future.  After he departs, Rosetta is overcome by the feeling that her place is with her husband.  Unbeknownst to him, she cuts her hair, hems an old pair of his pants and joins the Union army on the battlefield.  Inspired by over 250 documented accounts of women...

Read More >

MY SEARCH FOR WELLNESS, VOICE AND MEANING IN THE SECOND HALF OF LIFE
Written by MARTHA MORAVEC

Format: Trade Paperback, 256 pages

Publisher: Hatherleigh Press

On Sale: 08/26/2014

Price: $15.95

ISBN: 978-1-578-26505-3

The voice of a generation, speaking on issues of mortality, body image, health and dreams deferred, Magnificent Obesity recounts one woman’s effort to look honestly and compassionately at her obesity through the lenses of anxiety, addiction, aging and agnosticism. Although things don’t always turn out the way she’d hoped or planned, Martha’s indomitable spirit and her conviction that it’s never too late to grow up, that it is possible to feel born again at any age, and that there is no...

Read More >