Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
ARTS & HUMANITIES  > LITERATURE AND DRAMA  > AMERICAN

WESTERN

62 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
STORIES
Written by CALLAN WINK

Format: Hardcover, 256 pages

Publisher: The Dial Press

On Sale: 02/09/2016

Price: $26.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99377-6

In the tradition of Richard Ford, Annie Proulx, and Kent Haruf comes a dazzling debut story collection by a young writer from the American West who has been published in The New Yorker, Granta, and The Best American Short Stories.

A construction worker on the run from the shady local businessman whose dog he has stolen; a Custer’s Last Stand reenactor engaged in a long-running affair with the Native American woman who slays him on the battlefield every year; a middle-aged high school janitor...

Read More >

Written by MARY VOLMER

Format: Trade Paperback, 288 pages

Publisher: Soho Press

On Sale: 11/01/2011

Price: $14.00

ISBN: 978-1-569-47986-5

In the small settlement of Motherlode, a group of disparate characters have set up a community, held together by the formidable Emaline, hostess of the Wayside Inn. It is there that Alex, on the run from something and disguised as a teenage boy, finds refuge. But once she strikes gold, buried secrets are revealed and danger surrounds her.

“There are subliminal echoes of L. Frank Baum in Volmer’s mythmaking.... But Volmer keeps whimsy in check with a terse present-tense voice that invests her...

Read More >

A MEMOIR
Written by LAURA BELL

Format: Trade Paperback, 256 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 04/19/2011

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-307-47464-3

A Providence Journal Best Book of the Year

In 1977, Laura Bell left her family home in Kentucky for a wild and unexpected adventure: herding sheep in Wyoming’s Big Horn Basin. The only woman in a man’s world, she nevertheless found a home among the strange community of drunks and eccentrics, as well as a shared passion for a life of solitude and hard work. By turns cattle rancher, forest ranger, outfitter, masseuse, wife and mother, Bell vividly recounts her struggle to find solid earth in a...

Read More >

Written by JOE R. LANSDALE

Format: Trade Paperback, 258 pages

Publisher: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard

On Sale: 07/27/2010

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-307-45545-1

Hap Collins and Leonard Pine, the kings of East Texas mischief and mayhem, return in this full-throttle thriller to face off with the Dixie Mafia.

When Leonard is asked to rescue a teenage girl from a lowly drug dealer, he gladly agrees and invites Hap along for the ride. Everything goes according to plan, until they find out the dealer is a member of the Dixie mafia. A wild gun fight ensues, after which Hap and Leonard are arrested. Turns out, however, that the law needs a favor and if Hap...

Read More >

Written by KIM BARNES

Format: Trade Paperback, 288 pages

Publisher: Anchor

On Sale: 10/06/2009

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-307-38911-4

A powerful novel of young love and rural isolation from the acclaimed author of In the Wilderness.

Thomas Deracotte is just out of medical school, and his pregnant wife, Helen, have their whole future mapped out for them in upper-crust Connecticut. But they are dreamers, and they set out to create their own farm in rural Idaho instead. The fields are in ruins when they arrive, so they hire a farmhand named Manny to help rebuild. But the sudden, frightening birth of their daughter, Elise,...

Read More >

Written by JOHN WILLIAMS
Introduction by MICHELLE LATIOLAIS

Format: Trade Paperback, 296 pages

Publisher: NYRB Classics

On Sale: 01/16/2007

Price: $14.95

ISBN: 978-1-590-17198-1

It is the 1870s, and Will Andrews, fired up by Emerson to seek "an original relation to nature," drops out of Harvard and heads west. He washes up in Butcher's Crossing, a small Kansas town on the outskirts of nowhere. Butcher's Crossing is full of restless men looking for ways to make money and ways to waste it. Before long Andrews strikes up a friendship with one of them, a man who regales Andrews with tales of immense herds of buffalo, ready for the taking, hidden away in a beautiful...

Read More >

Written by GAIL CALDWELL

Format: Trade Paperback, 256 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 01/09/2007

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-97256-6

In this exquisitely rendered memoir set on the high plains of Texas, Pulitzer Prize winner Gail Caldwell transforms into art what it is like to come of age in a particular time and place. A Strong West Wind begins in the 1950s in the wilds of the Texas Panhandle–a place of both boredom and beauty, its flat horizons broken only by oil derricks, grain elevators, and church steeples. Its story belongs to a girl who grew up surrounded by dust storms and cattle ranches and summer lightning, who...

Read More >

Written by HERMANN HESSE
Introduction by TOM ROBBINS
Translator SUSAN BERNOFSKY

Format: Hardcover, 160 pages

Publisher: Modern Library

On Sale: 07/18/2006

Price: $16.95

ISBN: 978-0-679-64336-4

Hermann Hesse’s classic novel Siddhartha has delighted, inspired, and influenced generations of readers, writers, and thinkers. Though set in a place and time far removed from the Germany of 1922, the year of the book’s debut, the novel is infused with the sensibilities of Hesse’s time, synthesizing disparate philosophies–Eastern religions, Jungian archetypes, Western individualism–into a unique vision of life as expressed through one man’s search for meaning.

It is the story of the quest of...

Read More >

Written by KEVIN CANTY

Format: Trade Paperback, 272 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 03/14/2006

Price: $14.00

ISBN: 978-1-400-07855-4

Richard Winslow is in a rut. His marriage is over and he is alone, teaching poetry as a visiting professor in Montana and continuing to avoid actually writing himself. He drinks to oblivion every night.

At this freezing college, in the dead of winter, Winslow meets Erika, one of his poetry students. What begins with office hours and Jim Beam in paper cups becomes a road trip as they travel through Utah and Arizona. Long haunted by thoughts of death, both Erika and Winslow begin to glimpse the...

Read More >

Written by MARK SPRAGG

Format: Trade Paperback, 272 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 08/09/2005

Price: $15.95

ISBN: 978-1-400-07614-7

In an extraordinary tale of love and forgiveness, Mark Spragg brings us this novel of a complex, prodigal homecoming.

After escaping the last of a long string of abusive boyfriends, Jean Gilkyson and her ten-year-old daughter Griff have nowhere left to go. Nowhere except Ishawooa, Wyoming, where Jean's estranged father-in-law, Einar, still blames her for the death of his son. Though Einar isn’t glad to see either of them, Griff falls in love with his sprawling ranch and quiet way of life, as...

Read More >

Written by PETE DEXTER

Format: Trade Paperback, 384 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 07/12/2005

Price: $15.95

ISBN: 978-1-400-07971-1

DEADWOOD, DAKOTA TERRITORIES, 1876: Legendary gunman Wild Bill Hickcock and his friend Charlie Utter have come to the Black Hills town of Deadwood fresh from Cheyenne, fleeing an ungrateful populace. Bill, aging and sick but still able to best any man in a fair gunfight, just wants to be left alone to drink and play cards. But in this town of played-out miners, bounty hunters, upstairs girls, Chinese immigrants, and various other entrepeneurs and miscreants, he finds himself pursued by a...

Read More >

Written by KENT HARUF

Format: Trade Paperback, 320 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 05/03/2005

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-375-72576-0

One of the most beloved novels in recent years, Plainsong was a best-seller from coast to coast—and now Kent Haruf returns to the High Plains community of Holt, Colorado, with a story of even more masterful authority.

When the McPheron brothers see Victoria Roubideaux, the single mother they’d taken in, move from their ranch to begin college, an emptiness opens before them—and for many other townspeople it also promises to be a long, hard winter. A young boy living alone with his grandfather...

Read More >