Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
ARTS & HUMANITIES  > LITERATURE AND DRAMA  > AMERICAN

SHORT STORY

251 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
(PENGUIN CLASSICS DELUXE EDITION)
Written by ARTHUR MILLER

Format: Trade Paperback, 384 pages

Publisher: Penguin Classics

On Sale: 11/22/2016

Price: $25.00

ISBN: 978-0-143-10847-4

The collected short fiction of America’s leading dramatist of the 20th century in a Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition
 
Though best known for creating some of the greatest dramas of the twentieth century, Arthur Miller was also a master of the short story. Initially published in prestigious venues like the New Yorker, the Atlantic, and Esquire, his fiction constitutes a fascinating and indispensable portion of his life’s work. Presence: Collected Stories revives and reintroduces these masterly...

Read More >

THE COMPLETE GOTHIC STORIES
Written by RAY RUSSELL
Foreword by GUILLERMO DEL TORO

Format: Trade Paperback, 256 pages

Publisher: Penguin Classics

On Sale: 09/27/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-143-12931-8

Horror legend Ray Russell’s haunting and macabre stories, including “perhaps the finest example of the modern Gothic ever written” (Stephen King), with a foreword by acclaimed filmmaker Guillermo del Toro
 
Haunted Castles is the definitive, complete collection of Ray Russell’s masterful Gothic horror stories, including the famously terrifying novella trio of “Sardonicus,” “Sanguinarius,” and “Sagittarius.” The characters that sprawl through Haunted Castles are frightful to the core: the...

Read More >

Written by MAVIS GALLANT
Introduction by FRANCINE PROSE

Format: Hardcover, 1000 pages

Publisher: Everyman's Library

On Sale: 08/09/2016

Price: $32.00

ISBN: 978-1-101-90763-4

This generous collection of fifty-two stories, selected from across her prolific career by the author, includes a preface in which she discusses the sources of her art.

A widely admired master of the short story, Mavis Gallant was a Canadian-born writer who lived in France and died in 2014 at the age of ninety-one. Her more than one hundred stories, most published in The New Yorker over five decades beginning in 1951, have influenced generations of writers and earned her comparisons to Anton...

Read More >

NEW STORIES, ESSAYS, AND OTHER WRITINGS

Format: Trade Paperback, 448 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 06/07/2016

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98732-4

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • From the renowned author of “The Lottery” and The Haunting of Hill House, a spectacular new volume of previously unpublished and uncollected stories, essays, and other writings.

Features “Family Treasures,” nominated for the Edgar Award for Best Short Story

Shirley Jackson is one of the most important American writers of the last hundred years. Since her death in 1965, her place in the landscape of twentieth-century fiction has grown only more...

Read More >

Written by LOUIS L'AMOUR

Format: Paperback, 384 pages

Publisher: Bantam

On Sale: 04/26/2016

Price: $6.99

ISBN: 978-0-804-17977-5

The vibrant tales of adventure by Louis L’Amour, one of America’s most beloved storytellers, have brought the American West to life. In The Collected Short Stories of Louis L’Amour, Volume 6, Part 1, L’Amour takes us beyond the frontier with gripping stories of crime, sports, and the murky world where the two often meet.
 
These electrifying stories roam from the naked glare of boxing arenas rife with corruption, and freight docks where laborers toil to earn just enough to get by, to the...

Read More >

STORIES AND A NOVELLA
Written by GEORGE SAUNDERS
Introduction by JOSHUA FERRIS

Format: Trade Paperback, 224 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 04/26/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98768-3

Since its publication in 1996, George Saunders’s debut collection has grown in esteem from a cherished cult classic to a masterpiece of the form, inspiring an entire generation of writers along the way. In six stories and a novella, Saunders hatches an unforgettable cast of characters, each struggling to survive in an increasingly haywire world. With a new introduction by Joshua Ferris and a new author’s note by Saunders himself, this edition is essential reading for those seeking to...

Read More >

STORIES YOU CAN'T UNREAD
Written by CHUCK PALAHNIUK

Format: Trade Paperback, 336 pages

Publisher: Anchor

On Sale: 04/19/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-345-80712-0

Chuck Palahniuk, literature's favorite transgressive author, gives us twenty-one stories and one novella in Make Something Up, a compilation that disturbs and delights in equal measure. In "Expedition," fans will be thrilled to find to see a side of Tyler Durden never seen before in a precursor story to Fight Club. And in other stories, the absurdity of both life and death are on full display: in "Zombies," the best and brightest of a high school prep school become tragically addicted to the...

Read More >

STORIES AND A NOVELLA
Written by DAVID GATES

Format: Trade Paperback, 336 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 04/19/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-804-16874-8

A Hand Reached Down to Guide Me is populated by characters, young, old or somewhere in between, who are broadly knowledgeable and often creative and variously accomplished, whether as doctors, composers, academics or journalists. Terrifyingly self-aware, each one of them carries the full weight of the human condition: parents in assisted-living facilities, too many or too few people in their families and marriages, the ties that bind a sometimes messy knot, age an implacable foe, impulses...

Read More >

Written by THOMAS MCGUANE

Format: Trade Paperback, 288 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 03/08/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-345-80591-1

San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of the Year

Set in his beloved Big Sky country, these stories attest to the generous compass of Thomas McGuane’s fellow feeling, as well as to his unique way with words and a comic genius in the vein of Twain and Gogol. In this triumphant collection, filled with grace and humor, the ties of family make for uncomfortable binds: A devoted son is horrified to discover his mother’s antics before she slipped into dementia, and a father’s outdoor skills are no...

Read More >

Written by STEVEN MILLHAUSER

Format: Trade Paperback, 304 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 03/08/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-804-16908-0

From the Pulitzer and Story Prize winner: sixteen new stories—provocative, funny, disturbing, enchanting—that delve into the secret lives and desires of ordinary people, alongside retellings of myths and legends that highlight the aspirations of the human spirit.

Beloved for the lens of the strange he places on small town life, Steven Millhauser further reveals in Voices in the Night the darkest parts of our inner selves to brilliant and dazzling effect. Here are stories of wondrously...

Read More >

Written by AYELET TSABARI

Format: Hardcover, 272 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 03/08/2016

Price: $26.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98893-2

Reminiscent of the early work of Jhumpa Lahiri, Ayelet Tsabari’s award-winning debut collection of stories is global in scope yet intimate in feel, beautifully written, and emotionally powerful. From Israel to India to Canada, Tsabari’s indelible characters grapple with love, violence, faith, the slipperiness of identity, and the challenges of balancing old traditions with modern times.

These eleven spellbinding stories often focus on Israel’s Mizrahi Jews, featuring mothers and children,...

Read More >

STORIES
Written by MIA ALVAR

Format: Trade Paperback, 368 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 03/02/2016

Price: $16.95

ISBN: 978-0-804-17149-6

Winner of the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction
A Best Book of 2015: Publishers Weekly; Kirkus Reviews; Huffington Post


These nine globe-trotting, unforgettable stories from Mia Alvar, a remarkable new literary talent, vividly give voice to the women and men of the Filipino diaspora. Here are exiles, emigrants, and wanderers uprooting their families from the Philippines to begin new lives in the Middle East, the United States, and elsewhere—and, sometimes, turning back again. 

A...

Read More >