Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
ARTS & HUMANITIES  > LITERATURE AND DRAMA  > AMERICAN

AFRICAN AMERICAN

213 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
Written by ERNEST J. GAINES

Format: Trade Paperback, 128 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 08/29/2017

Price: $15.00

ISBN: 978-0-525-43446-7

Ernest J. Gaines's new novella revolves around a courthouse shooting that leads a young reporter to uncover the long story of race and power in his small town and the relationship between the white sheriff and the black man who "whipped children" to keep order.

    After Brady Sims pulls out a gun in a courtroom and shoots his own son, who has just been convicted of robbery and murder, he asks only to be allowed two hours before he'll give himself up to the sheriff. When the editor of the...

Read More >

Written by YAA GYASI

Format: Trade Paperback, 320 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 05/02/2017

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-1-101-97106-2

Winner of the PEN/ Hemingway Award
Winner of the NBCC's John Leonard First Book Prize
Finalist for the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction  

Ghana, eighteenth century: two half sisters are born into different villages, each unaware of the other. One will marry an Englishman and lead a life of comfort in the palatial rooms of the Cape Coast Castle. The other will be captured in a raid on her village, imprisoned in the very same castle, and sold into slavery. 
 
Homegoing follows the...

Read More >

Format: Trade Paperback, 624 pages

Publisher: Penguin Classics

On Sale: 09/27/2016

Price: $22.00

ISBN: 978-0-143-10681-4

A new collection of the seminal writings and speeches of a legendary writer, orator, and civil rights leader
 
This compact volume offers a full course on the remarkable, diverse career of Frederick Douglass, letting us hear once more a necessary historical figure whose guiding voice is needed now as urgently as ever. Edited by renowned scholar Henry Louis Gates, Jr., and Pulitzer Prize–nominated historian John Stauffer, The Portable Frederick Douglass includes the full range of Douglass’s...

Read More >

Written by IMBOLO MBUE

Format: Hardcover, 400 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 08/23/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99848-1

Winner of the 2017 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

Selected for common reading at Fashion Institute of Technology

In the vein of Amy Tan and Khaled Hosseini comes a compulsively readable debut novel about marriage, immigration, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream—the unforgettable story of a young Cameroonian couple making a new life in New York just as the Great Recession upends the economy.

 
Jende Jonga, a Cameroonian immigrant living in Harlem, has come to the United States...

Read More >

Written by COLSON WHITEHEAD

Format: Hardcover, 320 pages

Publisher: Doubleday

On Sale: 08/02/2016

Price: $26.95

ISBN: 978-0-385-54236-4

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize
Winner of the National Book Award
Oprah Book Club 2016 Selection

 
From prize-winning, bestselling author Colson Whitehead, a magnificent tour de force chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South

Cora is a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia. Life is hell for all the slaves, but especially bad for Cora; an outcast even among her fellow Africans, she is coming into womanhood—where even greater pain awaits....

Read More >

A NOVEL
Written by YAA GYASI

Format: Hardcover, 320 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 06/07/2016

Price: $26.95

ISBN: 978-1-101-94713-5

Homegoing is an inspiration.” —Ta-Nehisi Coates 

A novel of breathtaking sweep and emotional power that traces three hundred years in Ghana and along the way also becomes a truly great American novel. Extraordinary for its exquisite language, its implacable sorrow, its soaring beauty, and for its monumental portrait of the forces that shape families and nations,Homegoing heralds the arrival of a major new voice in contemporary fiction.
            
Two half-sisters, Effia and Esi, are born...

Read More >

A LEONID MCGILL MYSTERY
Written by WALTER MOSLEY

Format: Trade Paperback, 288 pages

Publisher: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard

On Sale: 04/19/2016

Price: $15.00

ISBN: 978-0-804-17209-7

P.I. Leonid McGill isn’t usually one to refuse a case. But when Hiram Stent, a man down on his luck, begs him to find a cousin who is about to inherit millions of dollars, he senses something fishy. His instincts prove right: The night after he turns Hiram away, Hiram is found dead and Leonid’s office is broken into. Feeling partly responsible for this bizarre turn of events, Leonid is forced to open an investigation that will pull him into the lurid history of an old-money New York...

Read More >

Written by JAMES BALDWIN
Introduction by COLM TOIBIN

Format: Hardcover, 200 pages

Publisher: Everyman's Library

On Sale: 03/01/2016

Price: $21.00

ISBN: 978-1-101-90774-0

James Baldwin’s groundbreaking novel about love and the fear of love is set among the bohemian bars and nightclubs of 1950s Paris.

David is a young American expatriate who has just proposed marriage to his girlfriend, Hella. While she is away on a trip, David meets a bartender named Giovanni to whom he is drawn in spite of himself. Soon the two are spending the night in Giovanni’s curtainless room, which he keeps dark to protect their privacy. But Hella’s return to Paris brings the affair to...

Read More >

Written by TONI MORRISON

Format: Trade Paperback, 192 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 01/26/2016

Price: $14.95

ISBN: 978-0-307-74092-2

At the center: a young woman who calls herself Bride, whose stunning blue-black skin is only one element of her beauty, her boldness and confidence, her success in life, but which caused her light-skinned mother to deny her even the simplest forms of love. There is Booker, the man Bride loves, and loses to anger. Rain, the mysterious white child with whom she crosses paths. And finally, Bride’s mother herself, Sweetness, who takes a lifetime to come to understand that “what you do to...

Read More >

Written by KEVIN YOUNG

Format: Trade Paperback, 208 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 10/13/2015

Price: $16.95

ISBN: 978-0-375-71188-6

A decade after the sudden and tragic loss of his father, we witness the unfolding of grief. “In the night I brush / my teeth with a razor,” he tells us, in one of the collection’s piercing two-line poems. Capturing the strange silence of bereavement (“Not the storm / but the calm / that slays me”), Kevin Young acknowledges, even celebrates, life’s passages, his loss transformed and tempered in a sequence about the birth of his son: in “Crowning,” he delivers what is surely one of the most...

Read More >

Written by ICEBERG SLIM
Foreword by JUSTIN GIFFORD

Format: Trade Paperback, 256 pages

Publisher: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard

On Sale: 08/04/2015

Price: $14.95

ISBN: 978-1-101-87259-8

From the multi-million copy master of vernacular black literature and pioneeer of hip hop culture, a masterpiece of crime fiction set in Los Angeles' meanest, toughest streets.

Here is the newly discovered novel by Iceberg Slim, the creator and undisputed master of African-American "street literature," a man who profoundly influenced hip hop and rap culture and probably has sold more books than any other black American author of the twentieth century (not that he saw the royalties from those...

Read More >

Format: Hardcover, 480 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 02/10/2015

Price: $35.00

ISBN: 978-0-375-41379-7

This is the first comprehensive selection from the correspondence of the iconic and beloved Langston Hughes. It offers a life in letters that showcases his many struggles as well as his memorable achievements. Arranged by decade and linked by expert commentary, the volume guides us through Hughes’s journey in all its aspects: personal, political, practical, and—above all—literary. His letters range from those written to family members, notably his father (who opposed Langston’s literary...

Read More >