Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
ARTS & HUMANITIES  > LITERATURE AND DRAMA

AMERICAN

177 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
Written by HENRY JAMES
Introduction by STEPHEN FENDER

Format: Trade Paperback, 432 pages

Publisher: Penguin Classics

On Sale: 01/24/2017

Price: $9.00

ISBN: 978-0-141-38977-6

A wonderful new collection of Henry James’s short stories about Americans in Europe
 
Daisy Miller is one of Henry James’s great heroines: a young, independent American traveling in Europe, whose flouting of social conventions has the potential to lead to catastrophe. Her story is here accompanied by six more riffing on a classic Jamesian theme: the clash between the old world and new, Europe and America.
 
For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic...

Read More >

THE DARING U.S. MISSION TO RESCUE THE PRICELESS STALLIONS KIDNAPPED BY THE NAZIS
Written by ELIZABETH LETTS

Format: Hardcover, 400 pages

Publisher: Ballantine Books

On Sale: 08/23/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-345-54480-3

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion, the remarkable story of the heroic rescue of priceless horses in the closing days of World War II
 
In the chaotic last days of the war a small troop of battle-weary American soldiers captures a German spy and makes an astonishing find—his briefcase is empty but for photos of beautiful white horses that have been stolen and kept on a secret farm behind enemy lines. Hitler has stockpiled the world’s finest purebreds in...

Read More >

Written by LILY BROOKS-DALTON

Format: Hardcover, 272 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 08/09/2016

Price: $26.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99889-4

For readers of Station Eleven and The Snow Child, Lily Brooks-Dalton’s haunting debut is the unforgettable story of two outsiders—a lonely scientist in the Arctic and an astronaut trying to return to Earth—as they grapple with love, regret, and survival in a world transformed.
 
Augustine, a brilliant, aging astronomer, is consumed by the stars. For years he has lived in remote outposts, studying the sky for evidence of how the universe began. At his latest posting, in a research center in the...

Read More >

Written by JENNI FAGAN

Format: Hardcover, 288 pages

Publisher: Hogarth

On Sale: 07/19/2016

Price: $26.00

ISBN: 978-0-553-41887-3

The stunning new novel from the highly-acclaimed author of The Panopticon

It's November of 2020, and the world is freezing over. Each day colder than the last.
There's snow in Israel, the Thames is overflowing, and an iceberg separated from the Fjords in Norway is expected to drift just off the coast of Scotland. As ice water melts into the Atlantic, frenzied London residents evacuate by the thousands for warmer temperatures down south. But not Dylan. Grieving and ready to build life anew, he...

Read More >

Written by SALMAN RUSHDIE

Format: Trade Paperback, 304 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 07/12/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98820-8

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Washington Post • Los Angeles Times • San Francisco Chronicle • Harper’s Bazaar • St. Louis Post-Dispatch • The Guardian • The Kansas City Star • National Post • BookPage • Kirkus Reviews

From Salman Rushdie, one of the great writers of our time, comes a spellbinding work of fiction that blends history, mythology, and a timeless love story. A lush, richly layered novel in which our world has been plunged into an age of...

Read More >

A NOVEL
Written by DAVID MITCHELL

Format: Trade Paperback, 272 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 06/28/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98807-9

The New York Times bestseller by the author of The Bone Clocks and Cloud Atlas Named One of the Best Books of the Year by San Francisco Chronicle, NPR, Los Angeles Times, The Guardian, The Telegraph, National Post, BookPage, and Kirkus Reviews

Keep your eyes peeled for a small black iron door.

Down the road from a working-class British pub, along the brick wall of a narrow alley, if the conditions are exactly right, you’ll find the entrance to Slade House. A stranger will greet you by name...

Read More >

A NOVEL
Written by ANNE TYLER

Format: Hardcover, 240 pages

Publisher: Hogarth

On Sale: 06/21/2016

Price: $25.00

ISBN: 978-0-804-14126-0

Pulitzer Prize winner and American master Anne Tyler brings us an inspired, witty and irresistible contemporary take on one of Shakespeare’s most beloved comedies
 
Kate Battista feels stuck. How did she end up running house and home for her eccentric scientist father and uppity, pretty younger sister Bunny? Plus, she’s always in trouble at work – her pre-school charges adore her, but their parents don’t always appreciate her unusual opinions and forthright manner. 

Dr. Battista has other...

Read More >

A NOVEL
Written by EMMA CLINE

Format: Hardcover, 368 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 06/14/2016

Price: $27.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99860-3

An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong—this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’ The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.
 
Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their...

Read More >

NEW STORIES, ESSAYS, AND OTHER WRITINGS

Format: Trade Paperback, 448 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 06/07/2016

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98732-4

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • From the renowned author of “The Lottery” and The Haunting of Hill House, a spectacular new volume of previously unpublished and uncollected stories, essays, and other writings.

Features “Family Treasures,” nominated for the Edgar Award for Best Short Story

Shirley Jackson is one of the most important American writers of the last hundred years. Since her death in 1965, her place in the landscape of twentieth-century fiction has grown only more...

Read More >

Format: Trade Paperback, 336 pages

Publisher: Titan Books

On Sale: 06/07/2016

Price: $14.95

ISBN: 978-1-783-29154-0

Fresh out of Cambridge University, the young Mycroft Holmes is already making a name for himself in government, working for the Secretary of State for War. Yet this most British of civil servants has strong ties to the faraway island of Trinidad, the birthplace of his best friend, Cyrus Douglas, a man of African descent, and where his fiancée Georgiana Sutton was raised.

Mycroft’s comfortable existence is overturned when Douglas receives troubling reports from home. There are rumors of...

Read More >

Written by ABIGAIL ULMAN

Format: Hardcover, 368 pages

Publisher: Spiegel & Grau

On Sale: 05/31/2016

Price: $26.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98917-5

For fans of HBO’s Girls, Abigail Ulman’s heartbreakingly tender and often darkly funny fiction is a fresh take on the experiences of contemporary young women.
 
Claire is magnetic. On the cusp of adulthood and letting go of her adolescence one miserable responsibility at a time, she’s moved from London to San Francisco to work toward her PhD and minor in cheap whiskey, pour-over coffee, and guys who can’t be bothered to shower. When she finds out she’s pregnant by a heartsick ex-boyfriend, the...

Read More >

A NOVEL (BOOK THREE OF THE PASSAGE TRILOGY)
Written by JUSTIN CRONIN

Format: Hardcover, 624 pages

Publisher: Ballantine Books

On Sale: 05/24/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-345-50500-2

“A thrilling finale to a trilogy that will stand as one of the great achievements in American fantasy fiction.”—Stephen King
 
You followed The Passage. You faced The Twelve. Now enter The City of Mirrors for the final reckoning. As the bestselling epic races to its breathtaking finale, Justin Cronin’s band of hardened survivors await the second coming of unspeakable darkness.
 
The world we knew is gone. What world will rise in its place?
 
The Twelve have been destroyed and the terrifying...

Read More >