Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
SOCIAL SCIENCES  > GENDER STUDIES  > WOMEN'S STUDIES

WOMEN'S STUDIES: GENERAL

121 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
SEX, GENDER, FEMINISM
Written by CAMILLE PAGLIA

Format: Hardcover, 352 pages

Publisher: Pantheon

On Sale: 03/14/2017

Price: $26.95

ISBN: 978-0-375-42477-9

From the fiery intellectual provocateur— and one of our most fearless advocates of gender equality—a brilliant, urgent essay collection that both celebrates modern feminism and challenges us to build an alliance of strong women and strong men. 

Ever since the release of her seminal first book, Sexual Personae, Camille Paglia has remained one of feminism’s most outspoken, independent, and searingly intelligent voices. Now, for the first time, her best essays on the subject are gathered...

Read More >

A MEMOIR OF DUBLIN IN THE 1960S
Written by MARTHA LONG

Format: Trade Paperback, 368 pages

Publisher: Seven Stories Press

On Sale: 01/10/2017

Price: $17.95

ISBN: 978-1-609-80696-5

The next installment of the Ma books—all bestsellers in Ireland and the UK—brings readers on the journey of Martha's first months of freedom in Dublin after leaving the convent where she spent her early adolescence. 

In the latest chapter of Martha Long's autobiographical series, Martha is for the first time on her own: discharged from the convent, she's finally 16, the age she'd long dreamed of as the doorway to her freedom from the whims of cruel adults. "Life is a bowl of cherries!" she...

Read More >

Written by GLORIA STEINEM

Format: Trade Paperback, 352 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 08/23/2016

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-345-40816-7

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | ONE OF O: THE OPRAH MAGAZINE’S TEN FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Harper’s Bazaar • St. Louis Post-Dispatch • Publishers Weekly 

Selected for common reading at California State University, Chico

Gloria Steinem—writer, activist, organizer, and inspiring leader—now tells a story she has never told before, a candid account of her life as a traveler, a listener, and a catalyst for change. Includes “Secrets,” a new chapter!

When...

Read More >

MY JOURNEY FROM SHAME TO STRENGTH
Written by LIZ PRYOR

Format: Hardcover, 272 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 06/28/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99800-9

For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strength in the most unlikely place

In 1979, Liz Pryor is a seventeen-year-old girl from a good family in the wealthy Chicago suburbs. Halfway through her senior year of high school, she discovers that she is pregnant—a fact her parents are determined to keep a secret from her friends, siblings, and community forever. One snowy January day, after driving across three...

Read More >

BECOMING EMPOWERED, SELF-RELIANT, AND RICH IN EVERY WAY
Written by NELY GALáN
Foreword by SUZE ORMAN

Format: Hardcover, 240 pages

Publisher: Spiegel & Grau

On Sale: 05/31/2016

Price: $25.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98975-5

For readers of #GIRLBOSS and viewers of Shark Tank—a global revolution in entrepreneurship is under way, inspiring women to blaze a trail of financial self-reliance and become self-made. Featuring a foreword by Suze Orman.
 

What does it mean to be self-made? It’s not just about having money, but financial empowerment is where it begins. It means getting out of survival mode, where you are one problem away from catastrophe. It means changing your mindset from instant gratification to goal...

Read More >

MAKING A LIFE OF ONE'S OWN
Written by KATE BOLICK

Format: Trade Paperback, 352 pages

Publisher: Broadway Books

On Sale: 04/19/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-385-34715-0

A New York Times Book Review Notable Book

“Whom to marry, and when will it happen—these two questions define every woman’s existence.”


So begins Spinster, a revelatory and slyly erudite look at the pleasures and possibilities of remaining single. Using her own experiences as a starting point, journalist and cultural critic Kate Bolick invites us into her carefully considered, passionately lived life, weaving together the past and present to examine why­ she—along with over 100 million...

Read More >

MY FIGHT FOR HUMAN RIGHTS IN IRAN
Written by SHIRIN EBADI

Format: Hardcover, 304 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 03/08/2016

Price: $27.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99887-0

Selected for Common Reading at Thomas College

The first Muslim woman to receive the Nobel Peace Prize, Shirin Ebadi has inspired millions around the globe through her work as a human rights lawyer defending women and children against a brutal regime in Iran. Now Ebadi tells her story of courage and defiance in the face of a government out to destroy her, her family, and her mission: to bring justice to the people and the country she loves.

For years the Islamic Republic tried to intimidate...

Read More >

THE EXTRAORDINARY LIVES OF MARY WOLLSTONECRAFT & MARY SHELLEY
Written by CHARLOTTE GORDON

Format: Trade Paperback, 672 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 02/02/2016

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98047-9

NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE SEATTLE TIMES

This groundbreaking dual biography brings to life a pioneering English feminist and the daughter she never knew. Mary Wollstonecraft and Mary Shelley have each been the subject of numerous biographies, yet no one has ever examined their lives in one book—until now. In Romantic Outlaws, Charlotte Gordon reunites the trailblazing author who wrote A Vindication of the Rights of Woman and...

Read More >

Written by JEANNE THEOHARIS

Format: Trade Paperback, 336 pages

Publisher: Beacon Press

On Sale: 11/24/2015

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-807-07692-7

2014 NAACP Image Award Winner: Outstanding Literary Work – Biography / Auto Biography

2013 Letitia Woods Brown Award from the Association of Black Women Historians 

Choice Top 25 Academic Titles for 2013


The definitive political biography of Rosa Parks examines her six decades of activism, challenging perceptions of her as an accidental actor in the civil rights movement


Presenting a corrective to the popular notion of Rosa Parks as the quiet seamstress who, with a single act, birthed the modern...

Read More >

CONVERSATIONS BETWEEN A WRITER AND A PAINTER

Format: Hardcover, 256 pages

Publisher: Nan A. Talese

On Sale: 11/17/2015

Price: $25.95

ISBN: 978-0-385-53986-9

A provocative and wide-ranging conversation between two distinctive women—one American and one French—on the dilemmas, benefits, and demands of womanhood.

Lisa Alther and Françoise Gilot have been friends for more than twenty-five years. Although from different backgrounds (Gilot from cosmopolitan Paris, Alther from small-town Tennessee) and different generations, they found they have a great deal in common as women who managed to support themselves with careers in the arts while...

Read More >

Written by GLORIA STEINEM

Format: Hardcover, 304 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 10/27/2015

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-679-45620-9

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • ONE OF O: THE OPRAH MAGAZINE’S TEN FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR • Gloria Steinem—writer, activist, organizer, and inspiring leader—now tells a story she has never told before, a candid account of her life as a traveler, a listener, and a catalyst for change.

When people ask me why I still have hope and energy after all these years, I always say: Because I travel. Taking to the road—by which I mean letting the road take you—changed who I thought I was. The road is...

Read More >

Photographer JESSICA YATROFSKY

Format: Hardcover, 80 pages

Publisher: powerHouse Books

On Sale: 10/27/2015

Price: $30.00

ISBN: 978-1-576-87739-5

The subjects of I Heart Girl do not exhibit the expected stereotypes of women in mass media today. Instead, each face and each body is presented by Jessica Yatrofsky through study and repetition, examining femininity with irreverence and countering the widely accepted female image of past generations. 
Purposefully capturing young subjects with varying degrees of "masculine" and "feminine" traits, Yatrofsky further ignores the clichés of conventional gender identifiers. In her series I Heart...

Read More >