Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
SOCIAL SCIENCES  > GENDER STUDIES  > WOMEN'S STUDIES

WOMEN'S LITERATURE AND DRAMA

210 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
Written by HOPE JAHREN

Format: Trade Paperback, 304 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 02/28/2017

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-1-101-87372-4

National Bestseller

Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Autobiography

New York Times Notable Book
 
Winner of the American Association for the Advancement of Science/Subaru Science Books & Film Prize for Excellence in Science Books 

One of the Best Books of the Year: The Washington Post, TIME.com, NPR, Slate,Entertainment WeeklyNewsdayMinneapolis Star Tribune, Kirkus Reviews

Geobiologist Hope Jahren has spent her life studying trees, flowers, seeds, and soil. Lab Girl is her...

Read More >

A NOVEL
Written by EMMA CLINE

Format: Hardcover, 368 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 06/14/2016

Price: $27.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99860-3

An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong—this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’ The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.
 
Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their...

Read More >

NEW STORIES, ESSAYS, AND OTHER WRITINGS

Format: Trade Paperback, 448 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 06/07/2016

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98732-4

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • From the renowned author of “The Lottery” and The Haunting of Hill House, a spectacular new volume of previously unpublished and uncollected stories, essays, and other writings.

Features “Family Treasures,” nominated for the Edgar Award for Best Short Story

Shirley Jackson is one of the most important American writers of the last hundred years. Since her death in 1965, her place in the landscape of twentieth-century fiction has grown only more...

Read More >

THE EXTRAORDINARY LIVES OF MARY WOLLSTONECRAFT & MARY SHELLEY
Written by CHARLOTTE GORDON

Format: Trade Paperback, 672 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 02/02/2016

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98047-9

NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE SEATTLE TIMES

This groundbreaking dual biography brings to life a pioneering English feminist and the daughter she never knew. Mary Wollstonecraft and Mary Shelley have each been the subject of numerous biographies, yet no one has ever examined their lives in one book—until now. In Romantic Outlaws, Charlotte Gordon reunites the trailblazing author who wrote A Vindication of the Rights of Woman and...

Read More >

A NOVEL

Format: Hardcover, 240 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 09/01/2015

Price: $30.00

ISBN: 978-0-307-26747-4

From the celebrated New Yorker cartoonist and acclaimed author of Cancer Vixen, a brilliant, funny, and wildly imaginative first novel: the story of an influential gossip columnist brought face-to-face with her higher self—and a challenge to change her life for the better.

Glamorous, superconnected Ann Tenna is the founder of Eyemauler, a New York City-based Web site that’s always the first to dish the most up-to-the-minute dirt on celebrities and ordinary folks alike. Ann has ascended to the...

Read More >

Written by ANNE FORTIER

Format: Trade Paperback, 608 pages

Publisher: Ballantine Books

On Sale: 09/01/2015

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-345-53624-2

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Juliet comes a mesmerizing novel about a young scholar who risks her reputation—and her life—on a thrilling journey to prove that the legendary warrior women known as the Amazons actually existed.

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
 
Oxford lecturer Diana Morgan is an expert on Greek mythology. Her obsession with the Amazons started in childhood when her eccentric grandmother...

Read More >

Written by RUTHANNE LUM MCCUNN

Format: Trade Paperback, 216 pages

Publisher: Beacon Press

On Sale: 07/21/2015

Price: $15.00

ISBN: 978-0-807-08326-0

Lalu Nathoy’s father calls his thirteen-year-old daughter his treasure, his “thousand pieces of gold,” yet when famine strikes northern China in 1871, he is forced to sell her. Polly, as Lalu is later called, is sold to a brothel, sold again to a slave merchant bound for America, auctioned to a saloon keeper, and offered as a prize in a poker game. Complete with photographs and documents, this biographical novel is the extraordinary story of a legendary pioneer’s fight for independence and...

Read More >

Written by EIMEAR MCBRIDE

Format: Trade Paperback, 240 pages

Publisher: Hogarth

On Sale: 06/09/2015

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-1-101-90343-8

Winner of 2014 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction
Winner of the Goldsmiths Prize
Winner of the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award
Winner of the Desmond Elliott Prize
Winner of 2013 Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize
Shortlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize
Shortlisted for the Folio Prize
Publishers Weekly, Kirkus, and Library Journal’s Best Books of 2014
One of Time Out New York’s Ten Best Books of 2014
Selected as one of NPR's 2014 Great Reads
A New York Magazine Best Book of 2014

Boston Globe Best...

Read More >

OR, WHAT I'VE LEARNED FROM READING TOO MUCH
Written by SAMANTHA ELLIS

Format: Trade Paperback, 272 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 02/03/2015

Price: $14.95

ISBN: 978-1-101-87209-3

While debating literature’s greatest heroines with her best friend, thirtysomething playwright Samantha Ellis has a revelation—her whole life, she's been trying to be Cathy Earnshaw of Wuthering Heights when she should have been trying to be Jane Eyre. With this discovery, she embarks on a retrospective look at the literary ladies—the characters and the writers—whom she has loved since childhood. From early obsessions with the March sisters to her later idolization of Sylvia Plath, Ellis...

Read More >

SELECTED STORIES
Written by SILVINA OCAMPO
Preface by JORGE LUIS BORGES
Translator DANIEL BALDERSTON
Introduction by HELEN OYEYEMI

Format: Trade Paperback, 384 pages

Publisher: NYRB Classics

On Sale: 01/27/2015

Price: $17.95

ISBN: 978-1-590-17767-9

Thus Were Their Faces offers a comprehensive selection of the short fiction of Silvina Ocampo, undoubtedly one of the twentieth century’s great masters of the story and the novella. Here are tales of doubles and impostors, angels and demons, a marble statue of a winged horse that speaks, a beautiful seer who writes the autobiography of her own death, a lapdog who records the dreams of an old woman, a suicidal romance, and much else that is incredible, mad, sublime, and delicious. Italo...

Read More >

A MEMOIR
Written by AMY JO BURNS

Format: Hardcover, 216 pages

Publisher: Beacon Press

On Sale: 10/07/2014

Price: $24.95

ISBN: 978-0-807-03703-4

Amy Jo Burns grew up in Mercury, Pennsylvania, an industrial town humbled by the steel collapse of the 1980s. Instead of the construction booms and twelve-hour shifts her parents’ generation had known, the Mercury Amy Jo knew was marred by empty houses, old strip mines, and vacant lots. It wasn’t quite a ghost town—only because many people had no choice but to stay.
 
The year Burns turned ten, this sleepy town suddenly woke up. Howard Lotte, its beloved piano teacher, was accused of sexually...

Read More >

Written by DAISY HERNANDEZ

Format: Hardcover, 200 pages

Publisher: Beacon Press

On Sale: 09/09/2014

Price: $24.95

ISBN: 978-0-807-01448-6

In this lyrical, coming-of-age memoir, Daisy Hernández chronicles what the women in her Cuban-Colombian family taught her about love, money, and race. These lessons—rooted in women’s experiences of migration, colonization, y cariño—define in evocative detail what it means to grow up female in an immigrant home.

In one story, Daisy sets out to defy the dictates of race and class that preoccupy her mother and tías, but dating women and transmen, and coming to identify as bisexual, leads her to...

Read More >