Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
SOCIAL SCIENCES  > GENDER STUDIES

WOMEN'S STUDIES

206 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:
25 INNOVATORS, INVENTORS, AND TRAILBLAZERS WHO CHANGED HISTORY
Written by SAM MAGGS

Format: Hardcover, 240 pages

Publisher: Quirk Books

On Sale: 10/04/2016

Price: $16.99

ISBN: 978-1-594-74925-4

You may think you know women’s history pretty well. But have you ever heard of Alice Ball, the chemist who developed an effective treatment for leprosy—only to have the credit taken by a man? Or Mary Sherman Morgan, the rocket scientist whose liquid fuel compounds blasted the first U.S. satellite into orbit? Or Huang Daopo, the inventor whose weaving technology revolutionized textile production in China—centuries before the cotton gin?

In Wonder Women, author Sam Maggs tells the stories of...

Read More >

Written by GLORIA STEINEM

Format: Trade Paperback, 352 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 08/23/2016

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-345-40816-7

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | ONE OF O: THE OPRAH MAGAZINE’S TEN FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Harper’s Bazaar • St. Louis Post-Dispatch • Publishers Weekly 

Selected for common reading at California State University, Chico

Gloria Steinem—writer, activist, organizer, and inspiring leader—now tells a story she has never told before, a candid account of her life as a traveler, a listener, and a catalyst for change. Includes “Secrets,” a new chapter!

When...

Read More >

THE INSPIRING STORY OF ONE WOMAN'S PURSUIT OF A LIFELONG DREAM
Written by DIANA NYAD

Format: Trade Paperback, 320 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 06/28/2016

Price: $16.95

ISBN: 978-0-804-17291-2

When Diana Nyad arrived on the shore of Key West after fifty-three hours of grueling swimming across an epic ocean, she not only set a world record—becoming the first person to swim the shark-infested waters between Cuba and Florida with no cage for protection—she also succeeded in fulfilling a dream she first chased at age twenty-eight and at long last achieved when she was sixty-four.  

Now, in a riveting memoir, Diana shares a spirited account of what it takes to face one’s fears, engage...

Read More >

MY JOURNEY FROM SHAME TO STRENGTH
Written by LIZ PRYOR

Format: Hardcover, 272 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 06/28/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99800-9

For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strength in the most unlikely place

In 1979, Liz Pryor is a seventeen-year-old girl from a good family in the wealthy Chicago suburbs. Halfway through her senior year of high school, she discovers that she is pregnant—a fact her parents are determined to keep a secret from her friends, siblings, and community forever. One snowy January day, after driving across three...

Read More >

BECOMING EMPOWERED, SELF-RELIANT, AND RICH IN EVERY WAY
Written by NELY GALáN
Foreword by SUZE ORMAN

Format: Hardcover, 240 pages

Publisher: Spiegel & Grau

On Sale: 05/31/2016

Price: $25.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98975-5

For readers of #GIRLBOSS and viewers of Shark Tank—a global revolution in entrepreneurship is under way, inspiring women to blaze a trail of financial self-reliance and become self-made. Featuring a foreword by Suze Orman.
 

What does it mean to be self-made? It’s not just about having money, but financial empowerment is where it begins. It means getting out of survival mode, where you are one problem away from catastrophe. It means changing your mindset from instant gratification to goal...

Read More >

MAKING A LIFE OF ONE'S OWN
Written by KATE BOLICK

Format: Trade Paperback, 352 pages

Publisher: Broadway Books

On Sale: 04/19/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-385-34715-0

A New York Times Book Review Notable Book

“Whom to marry, and when will it happen—these two questions define every woman’s existence.”


So begins Spinster, a revelatory and slyly erudite look at the pleasures and possibilities of remaining single. Using her own experiences as a starting point, journalist and cultural critic Kate Bolick invites us into her carefully considered, passionately lived life, weaving together the past and present to examine why­ she—along with over 100 million...

Read More >

Written by HOPE JAHREN

Format: Hardcover, 304 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 04/05/2016

Price: $26.95

ISBN: 978-1-101-87493-6

An illuminating debut memoir of a woman in science; a moving portrait of a longtime friendship; and a stunningly fresh look at plants that will forever change how you see the natural world
 
Acclaimed scientist Hope Jahren has built three laboratories in which she’s studied trees, flowers, seeds, and soil. Her first book is a revelatory treatise on plant life—but it is also so much more. 

Lab Girl
 is a book about work, love, and the mountains that can be moved when those two things come together....

Read More >

THE REMARKABLE EVOLUTION OF SHAKESPEARE'S FEMALE CHARACTERS
Written by TINA PACKER

Format: Trade Paperback, 352 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 03/08/2016

Price: $16.00

ISBN: 978-0-307-74534-7

Women of Will is a fierce and funny exploration of Shakespeare’s understanding of the feminine. Tina Packer, one of our foremost Shakespeare experts, shows that Shakespeare began, in his early comedies, by writing women as shrews to be tamed or as sweet little things with no independence of thought. The women of the history plays are much more interesting, beginning with Joan of Arc. Then, with the extraordinary Juliet, there is a dramatic shift: suddenly Shakespeare’s women have depth,...

Read More >

THE EXTRAORDINARY LIVES OF MARY WOLLSTONECRAFT & MARY SHELLEY
Written by CHARLOTTE GORDON

Format: Trade Paperback, 672 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 02/02/2016

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98047-9

NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE SEATTLE TIMES

This groundbreaking dual biography brings to life a pioneering English feminist and the daughter she never knew. Mary Wollstonecraft and Mary Shelley have each been the subject of numerous biographies, yet no one has ever examined their lives in one book—until now. In Romantic Outlaws, Charlotte Gordon reunites the trailblazing author who wrote A Vindication of the Rights of Woman and...

Read More >

Written by GLORIA STEINEM

Format: Hardcover, 304 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 10/27/2015

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-679-45620-9

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • ONE OF O: THE OPRAH MAGAZINE’S TEN FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR • Gloria Steinem—writer, activist, organizer, and inspiring leader—now tells a story she has never told before, a candid account of her life as a traveler, a listener, and a catalyst for change.

When people ask me why I still have hope and energy after all these years, I always say: Because I travel. Taking to the road—by which I mean letting the road take you—changed who I thought I was. The road is...

Read More >

LEAVING HASIDISM, KEEPING MY FAMILY
Written by CHAYA DEITSCH

Format: Hardcover, 240 pages

Publisher: Schocken

On Sale: 10/13/2015

Price: $26.00

ISBN: 978-0-805-24317-8

A heartfelt and inspiring personal account of a woman raised as a Lubavitcher Hasid who leaves that world without leaving the family that remains within it.
 
Even as a child, Chaya Deitsch felt that she didn’t belong in the Hasidic world into which she’d been born. She spent her teenage years outwardly conforming to but secretly rebelling against the rules that tell you what and when to eat, how to dress, whom you can befriend, and what you must believe. Loving her parents, grandparents, and...

Read More >

Written by DONNA KARAN

Format: Hardcover, 384 pages

Publisher: Ballantine Books

On Sale: 10/13/2015

Price: $30.00

ISBN: 978-1-101-88349-5

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY HARPER’S BAZAAR • In this candid memoir, featuring a foreword by Barbra Streisand, renowned designer Donna Karan shares intimate details about her lonely childhood, her four-plus decades in the fashion industry, her two marriages, motherhood, and her ongoing quest for self-acceptance and spiritual peace.

Donna Karan was born into the fashion business—her father was a tailor, and her mother was a showroom model and Seventh Avenue saleswoman—yet Karan...

Read More >