Search our catalog: Use one field for a broad search or more than one to narrow your results. Need help? Read the search tips.
SOCIAL SCIENCES  > GENDER STUDIES

GENERAL

107 BOOKS IN THIS CATEGORY
SORT BOOKS BY:

Format: Hardcover, 80 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 03/07/2017

Price: $15.00

ISBN: 978-1-524-73313-1

From the best-selling author of Americanah and We Should All Be Feminists comes a powerful new statement about feminism today--written as a letter to a friend. 

A few years ago, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie received a letter from a dear friend from childhood, asking her how to raise her baby girl as a feminist. Dear Ijeawele is Adichie's letter of response.
     Here are fifteen invaluable suggestions--compelling, direct, wryly funny, and perceptive--for how to empower a daughter to become a...

Read More >

PORTRAIT OF A FRIENDSHIP: PAULI MURRAY, ELEANOR ROOSEVELT, AND THE STRUGGLE FOR SOCIAL JUSTICE
Written by PATRICIA BELL-SCOTT

Format: Trade Paperback, 480 pages

Publisher: Vintage

On Sale: 01/24/2017

Price: $17.00

ISBN: 978-0-679-76729-9

A finalist for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction, and longlisted for the National Book Award, The Firebrand and the First Lady is the riveting history, two decades in the making, of how a brilliant writer-turned-activist and the first lady of the United States forged an enduring friendship that helped to alter the course of race and racism in America.

In 1938, the twenty-eight-year-old Pauli Murray wrote a letter to the President and First Lady, Franklin and Eleanor...

Read More >

PLURAL MARRIAGE AND WOMEN'S RIGHTS IN EARLY MORMONISM, 1835-1870

Format: Hardcover, 512 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 01/10/2017

Price: $35.00

ISBN: 978-0-307-59490-7

From the author of A Midwife's Tale, winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the Bancroft Prize for History, and The Age of Homespun--a revelatory, nuanced, and deeply intimate look at the world of early Mormon women whose seemingly ordinary lives belied an astonishingly revolutionary spirit, drive, and determination. 

A stunning and sure-to-be controversial book that pieces together, through more than two dozen nineteenth-century diaries, letters, albums, minute-books, and quilts left by...

Read More >

Written by MARQUIS DE SADE
Translator WILL MCMORRAN, THOMAS WYNN
Introduction by WILL MCMORRAN, THOMAS WYNN

Format: Trade Paperback, 464 pages

Publisher: Penguin Classics

On Sale: 12/27/2016

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-141-39434-3

A new translation of Sade’s most notorious, shocking, and influential novel
 
This distressing but hugely important text has influenced countless individuals throughout history: Flaubert and Baudelaire both read Sade; the surrealists were obsessed with him; film-makers like Pasolini saw parallels with twentieth-century history in his writings; and feminists such as Andrea Dworkin and Angela Carter clashed over him. This new translation brings Sade's provocative novel into Penguin Classics for...

Read More >

THE LIFE OF JANE JACOBS
Written by ROBERT KANIGEL

Format: Hardcover, 496 pages

Publisher: Knopf

On Sale: 09/20/2016

Price: $35.00

ISBN: 978-0-307-96190-7

The first major biography of the irrepressible woman who changed the way we view and live in cities, and whose influence can still be felt in any discussion of urban planning to this day. 

Eyes on the Street is a revelation of the phenomenal woman who raised three children, wrote seven groundbreaking books, saved neighborhoods, stopped expressways, was arrested twice, and engaged at home and on the streets in thousands of debates--all of which she won. Here is the child who challenged her...

Read More >

Written by GLORIA STEINEM

Format: Trade Paperback, 352 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 08/23/2016

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-345-40816-7

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | ONE OF O: THE OPRAH MAGAZINE’S TEN FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Harper’s Bazaar • St. Louis Post-Dispatch • Publishers Weekly 

Selected for common reading at California State University, Chico

Gloria Steinem—writer, activist, organizer, and inspiring leader—now tells a story she has never told before, a candid account of her life as a traveler, a listener, and a catalyst for change. Includes “Secrets,” a new chapter!

When...

Read More >

MY JOURNEY FROM SHAME TO STRENGTH
Written by LIZ PRYOR

Format: Hardcover, 272 pages

Publisher: Random House

On Sale: 06/28/2016

Price: $28.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-99800-9

For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strength in the most unlikely place

In 1979, Liz Pryor is a seventeen-year-old girl from a good family in the wealthy Chicago suburbs. Halfway through her senior year of high school, she discovers that she is pregnant—a fact her parents are determined to keep a secret from her friends, siblings, and community forever. One snowy January day, after driving across three...

Read More >

BECOMING EMPOWERED, SELF-RELIANT, AND RICH IN EVERY WAY
Written by NELY GALáN
Foreword by SUZE ORMAN

Format: Hardcover, 240 pages

Publisher: Spiegel & Grau

On Sale: 05/31/2016

Price: $25.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98975-5

For readers of #GIRLBOSS and viewers of Shark Tank—a global revolution in entrepreneurship is under way, inspiring women to blaze a trail of financial self-reliance and become self-made. Featuring a foreword by Suze Orman.
 

What does it mean to be self-made? It’s not just about having money, but financial empowerment is where it begins. It means getting out of survival mode, where you are one problem away from catastrophe. It means changing your mindset from instant gratification to goal...

Read More >

LIVES ON THE EDGE OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION
Written by KATHLEEN DUVAL

Format: Trade Paperback, 464 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 04/12/2016

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98120-9

A rising-star historian offers a significant new global perspective on the Revolutionary War with the story of the conflict as seen through the eyes of the outsiders of colonial society 

Winner of the Journal of the American Revolution Book of the Year Award • Winner of the Society of the Cincinnati in the State of New Jersey History Prize • Finalist for the George Washington Book Prize


Over the last decade, award-winning historian Kathleen DuVal has revitalized the study of early America’s...

Read More >

THE EXTRAORDINARY LIVES OF MARY WOLLSTONECRAFT & MARY SHELLEY
Written by CHARLOTTE GORDON

Format: Trade Paperback, 672 pages

Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

On Sale: 02/02/2016

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-812-98047-9

NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE SEATTLE TIMES

This groundbreaking dual biography brings to life a pioneering English feminist and the daughter she never knew. Mary Wollstonecraft and Mary Shelley have each been the subject of numerous biographies, yet no one has ever examined their lives in one book—until now. In Romantic Outlaws, Charlotte Gordon reunites the trailblazing author who wrote A Vindication of the Rights of Woman and...

Read More >

Written by JEANNE THEOHARIS

Format: Trade Paperback, 336 pages

Publisher: Beacon Press

On Sale: 11/24/2015

Price: $18.00

ISBN: 978-0-807-07692-7

2014 NAACP Image Award Winner: Outstanding Literary Work – Biography / Auto Biography

2013 Letitia Woods Brown Award from the Association of Black Women Historians 

Choice Top 25 Academic Titles for 2013


The definitive political biography of Rosa Parks examines her six decades of activism, challenging perceptions of her as an accidental actor in the civil rights movement


Presenting a corrective to the popular notion of Rosa Parks as the quiet seamstress who, with a single act, birthed the modern...

Read More >

Photographer JESSICA YATROFSKY

Format: Hardcover, 80 pages

Publisher: powerHouse Books

On Sale: 10/27/2015

Price: $30.00

ISBN: 978-1-576-87739-5

The subjects of I Heart Girl do not exhibit the expected stereotypes of women in mass media today. Instead, each face and each body is presented by Jessica Yatrofsky through study and repetition, examining femininity with irreverence and countering the widely accepted female image of past generations. 
Purposefully capturing young subjects with varying degrees of "masculine" and "feminine" traits, Yatrofsky further ignores the clichés of conventional gender identifiers. In her series I Heart...

Read More >